but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

regarding david
Tuesday, Nov. 05, 2002

Now Playing - NPR news. Don't forget to vote.
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Note to self: time to put next year's calendar in the Filofax so you can start writing next year's gigs in there!


My darling David left me a message yesterday. "Melanie. How good is your Spanish accent? I'm asking you for a reason, and I'm not telling you what the reason is until you call me back! Bye!"

I thought of doing the Inigo Montoya line from Princess Bride, but I wasn't sure he knew it. I then thought I'd throw a little West Side Story his way. I refrained. Turns out this year's Long Island Reads (hmm...looks like this link no longer works) selection is How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents by Julia Alvarez. David can't work up something that extensive by the time Library Week rolls around in early April (our Great Scott, and Zelda was two characters and his latest, Lillie Alone is one), so he figured he and I could do some vaguely dramatic readings. I'll do "the girls," he'll handle narration and adult roles. We have three bookings already. Fun, easy (since it's readings, we need no rehearsal other than to actually read the book), educational and lucrative.

Other than the fact that I'm an extremely non-ethnic-looking white girl, it should be a breeze.

I once said that I was going to write an appreciation of David, so I might as well attempt that now.

He's one of my favorite people, someone I consider to be a true modern Renaissance man. He's an author/director/actor/designer/technical writer/editor who appreciates fine art, music and food, and is one of the most uncloyingly positive people I know. An evening in his home makes you feel like you're in a French "salon," or a member of the Algonquin Round Table, only nicer. He never fails to interest me. I've known him and his partner, Rick for 12 years now, and they're both very dear to me. They've been unfailing in their support of me over the years, and I appreciate that more than they could possibly imagine. And I've told them as much.

Bearing in mind the "man of letters" I consider him to be, anything I could hope to write in appreciation is inadequate. He's just one of my favorite folks, is all.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com