but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

context is everything
Sunday, Dec. 10, 2006

Now Playing - Without a Trace.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - tired.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I thought I almost lost The Preciousss, people. Came home without it on Friday, and figured it had either fallen out in my office or outside the building. Spent the weekend hoping it wasn't the latter. Luckily it was waiting for me when I went in to work today, sitting at the bottom of the drawer where I keep my purse. But it was a long weekend of actually having to listen to individual CDs! How did I survive before Preciousss?

Yes, I went in to work on a Sunday. (Stayed late Friday, too, until I was kicked out at 4.) Too much stuff needed to be done. And it was nice, too. No-one bothered me, and I bustled around the office whistling or alternately humming snatches of "Brazil" or "Here We Are Again" (from the first Rodgers flop on my resume). Spoke with The Big Dean, and helped The Boss pack up his office a bit. I set up tomorrow morning's exams, made seating charts and signs, and printed labels for special exams.


Last night was the annual Christmas soir�e. Like last year, the crowd was smaller, but all the right people were there. And the kitchen and bathroom have been redone! No more toilet below floor level!

My friends help keep me in context. Telling them what I've been up to, finally getting to talk about the upcoming shows I'll be doing, I felt like myself again. Their warmth buoys me, their humor restores me. Knowing the context in which they see me, as foremost a creative person, made me feel like one again.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com