but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

"midniiiiiiight...
Tuesday, Dec. 13, 2005

Now Playing - nothing.
Now Eating - see above!
Now Feeling - exhausted.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


and I'm eating McNuuuuugets..."

No?

I hit the wall at about 10 p.m. tonight. After 13 hours at work, and an hour-and-a-half just sitting and proctoring with no good catalogs to divert me, I. Hit. The. Wall.

So I treated myself to McNuggets on the way home. (And a Hostess cupcake for dessert.) Shu-up! I traveled nearly three miles today without ever leaving my place of business, so there!

The 1Ls first day of final exams went quite well. We had Boss #2 address two classes and explain to them how things work, and I spoke to two more. I told them that if they paid attention to the videotape that explains the exam procedures this time, they had my permission to ignore it for the next three years. And I got some chuckles when I did my stewardess imitation while pointing in the direction of the restrooms. No-one blatantly screwed up. No exams went missing. No professors were harmed in the administration of these exams.

But lordy. 13 hours.


Anyone else mishear Stanley "Tookie" Williams as Stanley Tucci? I mean, sure he screwed around on his wife with Edie Falco, but is that a killin' crime?

Just me then, eh?


So I went to my friends' annual Christmas party Saturday night. I networked a tad, and caught up some more, and laughed and teased and hugged and complimented and comforted. Every year the crowd seems to get a bit smaller, but in a teeny, semi-rundown (put it this way: the toilet sinks lower and lower each year, and the loo is on the second floor!) cottage that's not the worst thing. The best thing is that it's like Fire Island: Winter Edition. We look at the photos from the previous summers, and we all know where we'll be come August. It'll be dance music instead of carols, and summer cocktails instead of red wine. There's comfort in the constancy.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com