but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

these are the contents of my head
Thursday, Jun. 15, 2006

Now Playing - Springsteen
Now Eating - strawberries.
Now Feeling - sad.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


It�s a little off-putting when someone seems to think that because the only instrument I play is the one in my throat, I�m not really a musician.

I�m doing this one-shot revue thing in a couple of weeks. In the past that these things have turned out to be a big waste of time, but this one was different. I have some fun stuff to sing, and picked up some more when someone else dropped out.

Until the music director decided to fight me on my interpretation of a song. Hence the �not really a musician� feeling. Color me odd, but when the character rattles off a laundry list of personal faults beginning with how �frantic� his life is, it seems to me that the verse should not be sung at the same leisurely tempo as the previous one. And the director, music director composer and star of the original production all seemed to agree.

But what�s my opinion compared to that of someone who managed to ruin one of the most recognizable riffs in rock�n�roll?


There�s this weird smell�like photography developer fluid or fresh seafood, it�s hard to tell, permeating our office suite. Weird, yet comforting, because it reminds me of one of the few things I liked about summer camp. Photography class, not clam shucking class.

There was no clam shucking class. Considering that most of the camps I went to were run by synagogues, it just wouldn�t be�

kosher.

Thanks so much. I�ll be here all week. And please tip your servers


Yes, I convinced Dad that he wants barbeque for Father�s Day.


I�m a little blue today. Hormone-induced wallowing in the past, combined with work annoyance. Have I mentioned that Boss #1 has a new title? He is now the Dean of Administration, which was going to get him out of dealing with students on a day-to-day basis, and out of masterminding first year orientation. However no-one has been hired to replace him for Student Services, so he�ll still be doing that plus administrative duties. And so will we. And even though there are things that should no longer be the purview of the new Dean of Administration, there�s shit we�ll still be stuck with anyway. Like exams. And faculty evaluations. And photocopying dozen of cases per class for an adjunct professor my boss sucks up to bigtime. Because G-d forbid law students should look up these things themselves. In addition, no-one is willing to commit to a definite start date in the new building, thus screwing up where students choose to live, and the class schedule, and the holiday schedule, and final exams�.

But we get paid tomorrow and I�ll be alone in the office for the day.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com