but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

'cause i'm a blonde - yeah, yeah, yeah
Sunday, Jun. 18, 2006

Now Playing - "Dead Zone," in the background.
Now Eating - drinking, water.
Now Feeling - pooped.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I had a Belle Friday night, and on the way home I turned to David and asked, �It is Friday, isn�t it?� I was so happy to have the whole weekend still ahead of me. Between the rehearsal annoyances and the work annoyances and the hormonal ebb-and-flow that has finally ebbed, I just wanted to crash.

So what did I do Saturday?

~Set aside some toiletries for our Florida trip. A tad early, as we�re not leaving �til the 26th, but Huz was heading to Harmon�s to peruse their ever-so-handy aisle of miniature bottles and packages of stuff you suddenly realize you absolutely must have on a vacation. So we had to go through our own stash and figure out what miniature bottles and packages of stuff we might be missing.

~Filed credit card statements, paid bills and cleared off useless papers (I don�t think I need our mechanic�s business card, since he�s moved shop twice in the past three months)(and his number�s in my cell anyway) from my desk.

~Organized my closet a bit, and then flitted around the house in a variety of dance shoes (tap, jazz boots, ballet, and those fabulous spectator oxfords I bought for High Society and keep threatening to have soled so I can wear them as street shoes.) Why? Because I miss dancing in a show.

~Kicked mine own ass at the gym.

~Came home, showered, and then proceeded to INADVERTENTLY CHANGE THE COLOR OF MY HAIR.

I bought Clairol Natural Instincts Shine Happy, a product that is supposed to enable me to �treat (my) hair to healthy-looking brilliant shine in just 10 minutes,� therefore keeping me �Shine Happy� for up to 4 weeks. No color, just shine. The instructions say as much, telling you not to worry �if the mixture on your hair looks colored � the result will be clear brilliant shine only.� And that it doesn�t cover gray, and goes on to suggest other Clairol options to lighten or darken your hair.

Being me, I didn�t follow the instructions to the letter:


  • I washed my hair immediately before using.
  • I left the solution on for about 20 minutes, instead of the recommended 10.
  • I wrapped my hair in plastic wrap and cooked it under the blow dryer.
  • This of course made me look like either Sigourney Weaver in a road show of Sunset Boulevard or Madame of Wayland Flowers and�.
  • See. Below.

[Nota bene: NO makeup (freshly showered�n all), much bone structure in evidence, and dang, that chicken pox scar over my eyebrow outshines the sun, does it not? See what I do for you people? Scars and all!]

The result is this:

not the best shot, but trust me - this is a shade best described as �Accidental Summer Blonde.� Joy asked if I�d called Clairol to complain. I told her no, because I was sure they�d argue that I�d departed enough from procedure for them to be unable to ensure typical results. And there is peroxide in it. And I�m not unhappy with it, it was just a surprise when I took the towel off my head and could see the color difference even with wet hair. I was relying on the sun to do that. Who knows? I could come back from Florida looking like Jean Harlow!


Father�s Day barbeque did not come to pass. *sigh* Mom had a rough week at work, and Dad did not think the combination of that, a possible long wait and extreme heat would bode well for a good Father�s Day experience. So instead we went here, and whaddaya know? They had ribs anyway. (Not ribs sent from the heavens ::drool:: but still�.) After dessert, they came back to our place and Huz was ambitious enough to set up his parents� old 8mm projector. We watched films of my parents vacationing at the Concorde Hotel (where Buster Crabbe was the swim director) and the Sha-Wan-Ga Lodge (my father learning to TWIST, people), and aunts and uncles and cousins crowded into our living room and a birthday party for the cutest toddler in the world. ME!

It was sweet, but I wonder what goes through their minds watching themselves so young and vital. I suppose I�ll see, in 50 years or so.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
3 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com