but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

the callback
Saturday, Nov. 11, 2006

Now Playing - some design special on HGTV.
Now Eating - drinking, Dr Pepper.
Now Feeling - jittery.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Ze callback, she ees fini.

I met up with The Singing Dentist a little after 3:30. I�d parked my car in frickin� Brazil with only 45 minutes left on the meter and no quarters in my purse, and endured two strange men who felt the need to talk to me as I trekked north. We repaired to the coffee shop next door to Saturday afternoon pre-quarterback the festivities to come over sips of too-hot tea. Soon enough it was time to abandon our beverages and head next door.

We convened in the theater and were then moved to the lobby. I sang first and read second among the seven (!) women up for the role, and did plenty of sitting in between. S.D. and I marveled at the unfortunate unprofessionalism of some of the actors. At one point, everyone was so loud I could barely hear him while he was singing in the theater. And since he was the only real singer there (IMHO; I consider the other guys up for the male lead [at least the ones I knew] more actor-singers) that said a lot. As did they. Juveniles and ing�nues were singing duets, and one guy took the opportunity to teach another to foxtrot. I only wish I were kidding.

S.D. had to leave early (as did the guy I read with), so he walked me to my car. More quarterbacking ensued. He said he thought we had a shot, based on the people we�d seen and heard, only a couple of whom were familiar faces. He�d been talking me up to the director, but she doesn�t really know my work. But The Powers That Be do, and they sat in on the call. I think it�ll all depend on how much TPTB are involved in the casting, and how willing she'll be to take on a relatively unknown quantity. I haven't worked there in 4� years, and in theatre that's a long, long time.

Anyway, now it�s in the hands of The Fates.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
2 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com