but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

a bountiful of riches
Tuesday, Dec. 20, 2005

Now Playing - folksy Christmas carols courtesy of WFUV.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - okay.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


My iPod is on its way! Nothing like ending the year on a (literal) high note!

That and one other thing have conspired to brighten my end-of-year outlook. I got a decent raise. As I�ve mentioned before, I�ve often felt a little screwed by The Little Law School come raise time. (Okay, yes, that�s putting it mildly.) This year, they did the right thing. The main complaint Big New Dean has received from the staff has been the disparity between dinky salary and exorbitant health plan costs. Through some miracle of the Magical Sky Pixie of Your Choice, our insurance premiums stayed exactly the same this year. And through some other miracle of the MSPoYC, management finagled us more money. To the tune of four percent plus $2000 added to my base salary.

And there was much rejoicing.

Seriously. It�s amazing what a noticeably bigger paycheck can do to boost your morale. And think how it benefits you, Dear Readers! This breaks the vicious three-year cycle known as The Annual Bitching About My Miniscule Raise! And you will look back upon this day with wonder and merriment as The Day Mel Was Actually Happy About Something! Of course, one might be tempted to look upon this as the start of Some Trend. But I think you all know me well enough to know That Will Not Be Happening.

Well, I�m certainly hoping that all this goodwill toward moi will carry over into the New Year. And disperse itself amongst my nearest and dearest as well. Because this last year has certainly been a pretty sucky one. Between the various insults and injuries inflicted upon various friends and family members, I am quite ready to say bye-bye to 2005, and start fresh.


I got pictures back from the Halloween party I attended as Joan Crawford, and posted them on Flickr. For a laugh, go here.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
2 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com