but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

can i take what's behind door #2?
Tuesday, Oct. 29, 2002

Now Playing - more pledge drive stuff
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


From what I've heard about Amazon.com's Gold Box offers, they're supposed to suggest things based on the history of your previous purchases.

Then why on earth have they offered me stuff like routers (both computer and woodworking), frying pans and (today's creme de la creme) a Marshall Faulk Bobblehead Doll? Okay, I do cook, own a computer (otherwise what would I be doing on Amazon?) and I'm crafty, so to speak.

But a bobblehead doll???

The theory being that no home should be without one, I guess. Jeff Bezos will not rest till every household in the country has a bobblehead. If America is deprived of its bobblehead dolls, then the terrorists will truly have won.

Sheesh.

Boy, it's a sleepy day at work today. The huz and I were up way too late watching Hannah and Her Sisters. Which is one of our favorite movies. I first saw it in college, I guess, and I usually happen across it whenever it's on. It was interesting listening to some of the dialogue between Michael Caine and Mia Farrow last night, and thinking "How much of this is 'Woody and Mia'-based?" Because some of the things were just a little too close to real life - Hannah's attention to her children, wanting to have a child of "their own" with Elliot, his infidelity with someone in the family.... Sometimes life imitating art can get a little creepy.

Well, it finally happened. After 3 years and 362 days of marriage, and 3+ years of occasional cohabitation before that, the husband said those dreaded words:

"Remember you asked me whether you ever snored?"

He did qualify that with "Of course you've been sick, and you're still all congested, etc.," sweetheart that he is. And I'm sure of course that it was a dainty, delicate little whuffle of a snore, and very brief.

But alas, the mystery is gone.

We're hopefully going to stay at a very nearby Bed and Breakfast this weekend. So it's no Great Escape from our daily lives, but it's something. A couple of nice dinners...some time spent by the Sound...sightseeing around town.... A little time alone to relax could be A Very Good Thing. I'm going over to make reservations in an hour.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com