but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

a birthday story
Monday, Feb. 23, 2004

Now Playing - the sound of silence.
Now Eating - hors d'oeuvres. It's what's for Birthday Dinners.
Now Feeling - not bad.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


It�s my birthday. Coincidentally, today someone linked to an entry written shortly after my last birthday, when I was in a pretty poor state of mind. Friends were, as is their fashion, concerned. I was appreciative. More than you know.

It�s a year later. Many things have changed, some for better, some for worse, and I�m still here. And I have decided that there are some things I need to let go of, that don�t do me or anyone around me any good. So I�m going to do that. No monumental post-New Year�s resolutions here, just a little something I�ll leave behind. I�ll still bitch about family crap and theatre crap and work crap, don�t you worry. Otherwise, I�d have nothing to write about!

So this year�s birthday included candy and cards (one lovely, one goofy) from The Huz (he�s working tonight, so we celebrate on Wednesday), calls from the parents, Leslie and Emily, cyberwishes from friends and family, gift certificates and jewelry from the bosses (we celebrate on Friday), and an abortive attempt at an after-work drink with my friend Steve, who came back from February Break in Vegas and is now feeling poorly (damn, and I was craving me some Hoegaarden White). I could have rebounded from this minor disappointment and gone to the gym, but y�know? It�s my birthday. I gotta right to sit on my ass.

So what�s new? This show that I�m not too fond of has opened, giving me a slice o� life back. The PMS that turned me into Thoroughly Maudlin Mellie for the past two weeks is abating. The buyers have signed a contract for my MIL�s house. Huz is slowly easing out of the theatre world, and seems okay with that for the moment. There are rumors of something theatrical that I would really like to do in the not-that-distant future.

And I still can�t get to a Friday Five in a timely fashion.

When was the last time you...

1. ...went to the doctor? January 27, gynecologist.
2. ...went to the dentist? October 24, for a cleaning.
3. ...filled your gas tank? last Tuesday night.
4. ...got enough sleep? HA!
5. ...backed up your computer? What is this �backing up of the computer� of which you speak?

And more, as they say, as it comes. Happy birthday to me.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
7 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com