but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

another saturday night
Saturday, May. 01, 2004

Now Playing - "That's Dancing" on PBS.
Now Eating - popcorn.
Now Feeling - mezzo-mezzo.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


This'll be brief, as I simply must go wash off my post-workout "glow". And I have been glowing as of late. I've upped the intensity of my cardio a bit - speed-walking for 20 minutes (up from 10) as a warm-up, then running 15-20 minutes more. I can run over two miles at a stretch, when I feel up to it. Much to my knees' chagrin. I turn a lovely shade I've dubbed "Marn pink". I'm pushing 100 miles. Uphill, like a frickin' Sisyphean boulder, but I'm pushing it.

As you'll see above, I'm watching "That's Dancing" on public television. Ray Bolger just introduced Liza Minelli's segment, and Liza's doing her spiel on some balcony overlooking Times Square. Why, oh why does the glittering marquee behind her look to me like it says "That's Drinking?" Even my subconscious won't cut Liza a break.

I think I wanna be Eleanor Powell when I grow up. Or maybe Cyd Charisse. 'Cept she can't sing her way out of a silk stocking.

So my mother-in-law's house was sold yesterday, and we are now theoretically "wealthy," inasmuch as we can keep her in assisted living for the foreseeable future. Our home is noticeably tidier thanks to the storage unit, and maybe soon we'll get around to a good Spring Cleaning. Maybe even before it becomes a Summer Cleaning.

Proving that the road to hell is indeed paved with good intentions, I managed to break two of our three remaining Fiesta highball glasses while washing dishes tonight. Dropping one onto the other'll do that.

Class evaluations will end next week, and finals will begin the week after. See Mel let another two weeks go by without updating. But then comes graduation, and summer classes (only in the evenings - whee!) and, well...summer. It's still chilly in the evenings, and that combined with the pollen/tree schmutz makes it tough keeping the windows open. But soon...soon. Sometimes when I leave home or work, I catch a breeze that smells like it's coming off the ocean. And it reminds me of the promise to come.

Come on, summer. Come on.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com