but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

holiday blues
Thursday, Dec. 29, 2005

Now Playing - Joe Strummer & The Mescaleros - "The Road to Rock'N'Roll"
Now Eating - drinking, Smart Water.
Now Feeling - achy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Gah. Just crappy, PMSy, sniffly, worked my ass off for the past two weeks, no tree-no menorah, building up to an awful let-down holiday funkiness that not even the iPod-new cellphone-pretty scarf from The Huz can assuage.

(Although the scarf is really cute. It allows me to indulge my WASPy argyle-y side, and is a welcome shot of blue above my charcoal winter coat. It makes me happy.)

Speaking of The Precioussss, 700 songs loaded so far. Including this CD. Yes, handbells. I caught the Raleigh Ringers holiday concert on PBS a couple of weeks ago, and it held my attention for the better part of an hour. The Nutcracker selections are particularly fun, and in describing it to Huz (who was at work when it aired), it brought back memories of the handbell ensemble at his alma mater.

And another entry in the �holiday gifts to make us hearken back to our carefree college days� category, this arrived in time for Christmas. When Huz was at school, one of his degree requirements was a couple of semesters of choir. He has spoken of the transcendency of performing �Ode to Joy� with the Buffalo Phil, so when Rob mentioned this particular recording, I knew I had to get it for him. I hope he likes it. We haven�t listened yet, but he certainly likes the idea of it. Thanks in advance to Rob.


So we made the switch from dial-up to cable modem this week. So far I have:


  • spent 25 minutes on hold waiting to talk to a CSR because I got an error message every time I tried to register an email address online (G-d forbid I should have tried it before the tech left my house�.)
  • had the damn thing tell me several times that �a cable has become unplugged� when I had not moved so much as an eyelash
  • not been able to find Outlook to save my life
  • then screwed something up so that the shortcut I created refused to open Outlook
  • nearly torn my hair out trying to create an email sig
  • screwed up my connection settings and had no idea how to fix them
  • almost finished copying my bookmarks one by one from AOL into IE. Almost.

You�ll notice the overriding motif here is �things I�ve managed to screw up.� Say what you will about AOL, but it�s a mighty handy all-in-one interface for a �seat of the pants� �puter user like me.

Change is good, Mel�change is good.

I�m sure things�ll ease up once I remove AOL and it won�t be fighting with every other program I use.

Gah. Too many hours hunched over a computer. Time for bed. 'Night y'all.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com