but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

out with the old
Saturday, Dec. 31, 2005

Now Playing - "This Is The Work That We Do" - The Nields.
Now Eating - drinking, Fanta.
Now Feeling - okay. Pretty damn okay.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Swiped from Chiara and Linda, and I think it's a pretty good "summing up" of the year.



1. What did you do in 2005 that you'd never done before?
Played Castle Golf.
2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions and will you make more for next year?
Considering my biggest aspiration was to start the new year clean and conscious, I think I�ll be a bit more adventurous this year.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
No. Two theatre friends have, but I�ve yet to see their offspring.
4. Did anyone close to you die?
No, thank goodness.
5. What countries did you visit?
None. A couple of other states and parts of my home state, but that�s it.
6. What would you like to have in 2006 that you lacked in 2005?
More confidence in my talent, more optimism.
7. What dates from 2005 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
April 30, the day my dad had his stroke.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
I logged almost 84 more miles at the gym this year than last, and that�s with fewer consistent months of exercise. My ass thanks me for it.
9. What was your biggest failure?
Having confidence in myself.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
A couple of my usual never-ending colds, but nothing even remotely serious.
11. What was the best thing you bought?
The Preciousss.
12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My dad, for kicking ass in rehab.
13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
The Religious Right�s.
14. Where did most of your money go?
Bills. Or clothing. I can�t be sure.
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Falcon Ridge.
16. What song will always remind you of 2005?
�Glow In The Dark Plastic Angel� � The Nields. For its kickass riding-really-fast-in-the-car sense of optimism.
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

  1. happier or sadder? Slightly sadder.
  2. thinner or fatter? The same, but firmer.
  3. richer or poorer? Slightly better off, but with more bills to contend with.
18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Reading. Performing. Taking care of my home.
19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Spending time in hospitals.
20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Christmas was spent with Huz�s cousins, and later with Bill and H.B., as every Judeo-Christian holiday should be.
21. Did you fall in love in 2005?
I�m still in love, even though it�s not easy. Your marriage changes, you change as people, but I�m proud to say we�re in this for the long haul.
22. How many one-night stands?
None.
23. What was your favorite TV program?
SVU, although I think it may be on the verge of jumping the shark.
24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
No. Hate is a strong, awful word, and I don�t use it in reference to anyone in my life.
25. What was the best book you read?
Arrrgh! There�s a resolution for ya, to read more in 2006!
26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
No discoveries I can think of, but a renewed appreciation for The Nields (regardless of what one did to my rental car ) and Eliza Gilkyson.
27. What did you want and get?
A good vacation. An iPod. A good raise. A really great role in a really great play.
28. What did you want and not get?
Other really great roles in great shows, but that was through deliberate choice, not lack of trying.
29. What was your favorite film of this year?
I went to the movies what? once? I think? Maybe? And I couldn�t tell you what I saw. Pathetic.
30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I ate good food and listened to good music. And I entered the tail end of my mid-thirties.
31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Winning the lottery.
32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2005?
�Gee, I�m in better shape, so I think I�ll buy clothes that actually emphasize that!�
33. What kept you sane?
The love of a good man, and my friends.
34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Hm. None.
35. What political issue stirred you the most?
Right to die, right to choose, freedom of religion.
36. Who did you miss?
My auntie, once she returned to Toronto.
37. Who was the best new person you met?
Meg, who is damn smart, damn funny and damn talented.
38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2005.
Never take your health for granted.
39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
�Days may be cloudy or sunny
We�re in or we�re out of the money
But I�m with you always
I�m with you rain or shine.�


Have a great New Year, y�all.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com