but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

a very late last year's wrap-up
Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012

Now Playing -
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Did I really think I would get this out in a timely fashion? Ha-ha-ha-haaa, it is to laugh.

Ah, last year. There's something I never want to do again. And here's a little bit of why.

(Previous versions are here => 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, [Apparently I missed 2006. I think I had food poisoning.] and 2005.



1. What did you do in 2011 that you'd never done before?
Sang at my first gay wedding.
2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions and will you make more for next year?
Last year's resolutions, as follows:
  • Eat better. I discovered (unfortunately at the very tail end of the season) that there is an Organic Farmstand less than 4 miles from my house. I can't afford a CSA share, but nothing should stop me from going to the farmstand and getting some fresh, local produce. And finding ways in which to use it. Well, folks, organic produce costs money, and that was in even shorter supply this year, so call that a fail.
  • Cook more, and differently. I enjoy cooking, and I'm pretty good at it. But I have stock (heh) recipes I rely on, and I need to step out of my comfort zone (and we all know how well I do that [see 2009's resolutions]) and try some new stuff. I've gleaned a few recipes from friends, and tried others I've found in the cookbooks I own, and I intend to keep broadening my repertoire. Success. I've broadened said repertoire, and gotten out of the "Here is the stock dish I always bring to parties" rut. (Of course, that may become the "Here is the NEW stock dish I always bring to parties" rut....)
  • Get in shape. Ferreals, because I'm not getting any younger, and my back isn't getting any better by my sitting on my ass doing nothing . Success. Lost almost twenty pounds through a combination of portion control, poverty, exercise, funky, depression-induced eating habits, and yoga. I have muscles. My back is healthier. I may need to buy a belt because my jeans keep threatening to fall down. I am even more flexible than I was. And I am really pretty damn proud of myself.
  • Be kinder, To myself and to others. Oh, let's just not even discuss it, shall we?

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Not directly. A few people on my fringes.
4. Did anyone close to you die?
Not directly. The mother of a high school friend.
5. What countries did you visit?
I don't believe I even left the state.
6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?
The ability to enjoy things.
7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
October 8th, when I fulfilled a dream and flew in a biplane. August 8th, when I got some good news in a not-so-good manner. And September 19th, the day of my first yoga class.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Getting in shape.
9. What was your biggest failure?
Being overwhelmingly negative for entirely too long.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
My first attack of vertigo since I was diagnosed sixteen years ago held off until the last week of the year. And the random back issues.
11. What was the best thing you bought?
An iPhone. Technically a gift from The Boss, but still.
12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
The people who reached out when I least expected it.
13. Whose behavior made you appalled or depressed?
Those who only gave lip service, though I'm sure they thought they meant it at the time.
14. Where did most of your money go?
Toward a new (used) car, car insurance, and bills, bills, bills.
15. What did you get really excited about?
The two gay weddings I attended.
16. What song will always remind you of 2011?
Someone Like You ~ Adele
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a. happier or sadder?About the same.
b. thinner or fatter? Thinner.
c. richer or poorer? Poorer.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Getting out of my head. Getting out of my house.
19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Sitting at home alone and being depressed. Crying.
20. How did you spend Christmas?
With Huz's cousins, as per usual.
21. What was your favorite TV program?
I don't think there's a Criminal Minds ep I have not seen. In syndication, at least.
22. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
No. I do love some people, though, and that came as a lovely surprise.
23. What was the best book you read?
I read more this year than I have in aaaaaages - The Help, Water for Elephants, a couple others that escape me at the moment. But my favorite was David Nicholls' One Day.
24. What did you want and get?
A new(er) car. And it's a very nice thing not to worry that the other automotive shoe is about to drop. ::knocks wood:: And cruise control and heated seats are my new BFFs.
25. What did you want and not get?
A raise.
26. What was your favorite film of this year?
I think the only film I saw was the concert film of Company.
27. What did you do for your birthday, and how old were you? I went to a sort of un-birthday party, and I turned forty-three.
28. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Money. The past year has been the worst one yet in that regard.
29. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?
Ac-cen-tu-a-ting the positive.
30. What kept you sane?
Yoga. And ANIMALS TALKING IN ALL CAPS
31. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Meh. None.
32. What political issue stirred you the most?
Marriage equality in NYS.
33. Who did you miss?
Brent. Still.
34. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.
We're each responsible for our own happiness.
35. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
So come in my car, we can drive all night
In the fog down Highway 1, and I'll find the
Perfect song and turn it up real loud
To say the words to you that I can't get out.
~The Words I Can't Get Out ~ Christene LeDoux


And on to this year's resolutions:
  1. Lose ten more pounds by the end of the semester.
  2. Continue with my yoga practice, and try to incorporate more of the mental/spiritual work along with the physical.
  3. Practice gratitude for the things I have, and let go of resentment for the things I don't.
  4. Find some sort of creative outlet, because for reasons both external and in-, I've been feeling pretty stagnant for a couple of years.
  5. Move on.

And that's all I got. Hope you're having a Happy New Year.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com