but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

just like the song say, all the livelong day
Monday, Nov. 19, 2007

Now Playing - central heating.
Now Eating - chai and cheese.
Now Feeling - achy. Pick a body part.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


It was a musical theatre bonanza on The Preciousss this morning. Barbara Cook (twice, "Glitter and Be Gay" and "Ice Cream"), the opening number from 1776, "Anthem" from Chess and a number from the recent revival of 110 in the Shade. Nothing to sneeze at.

And not a bad day, incessant headache (I'm thinking a combo of eyeglasses/wrong contacts) and lower backache (the building of the armoire) notwithstanding. Teeny Dean was out and the other coworker is visiting family in Seattle, so it was just like old times, The Boss, The Partner in Crime and me. We went out for lunch and ice cream.

Got my first taste today of the crap that comes with handling room reservations. An IT guy calls me and says he's gotten a request for tech support for a visiting speaker in a class. The classroom it's usually in does not have the necessary technology; can we move it next door? The room is available according to Room Manager, but it's not for me to tell him he can use it. He should...oh...ask the professor maybe??? He gets in touch with her and she agrees. Fine, it's changed, problem solved, right? Wrong. He goes to the room to set up and finds it's occupied. The class is nowhere to be found in Room Manager. The Woman Who Hates Me and Who Used To Handle This Crap probably dropped the ball. There's another potential problem looming. Because of the various holidays we had this semester, days had to be finagled in order to ensure that every class meets for fourteen weeks. So we have a couple of "It's Monday, but we're following a Wednesday schedule" days coming up. The days were never changed in Room Manager. So people may book rooms thinking they're free when they are not. I shall be Ever Vigilant. Well, at least Vigilant Until December Sixth. And Quick To Give Blame Where It Is Due.

I am tired of sitting up and squinting at a computer screen. I would rather be lying flat in bed, blind as a bat. I think I shall go and do just that.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com