but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

where were you?
Friday, Aug. 15, 2003

Now Playing - the hum of mom's bedroom a/c (on low).
Now Eating - a tuna sammich courtesy of the mom.
Now Feeling - schmutzy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Yeah, so where were you when the lights went out?

The air conditioner in our office made a loud, odd noise that sounded like someone had run over a power line with a lawn mower. And then everything stopped. A quick check of the building revealed that it wasn't just our "wing" that had lost power.

I will admit to a moment of panic, when we discovered the lights were out everywhere and no-one knew why. But then I said to myself, "If this is how it's supposed to end, so be it." Yeah, pragmatic little me. Some say the world will end in fire, some say in a massive blackout in which all milk on the Eastern Seaboard will go bad.

We all wandered around discussing it, and trying to find radios and see if our cell phones worked. Mine died the moment I tried to call The Huz. Luckily the Big Dean has an outside phone line (the "Red Phone", if you will), so I got Huz just as he was about to hit the shower, figuring he might as well make the most out of the last bit of hot water. We were closing early at five, and one car was still in the shop. I told him my boss could drive me home, and we'd see whether to pick up the car once I got there.

Drove by our mechanic's, and the car wasn't out there, so I guess he hadn't gotten it back yet.

Crawled home, with my boss on his last fumes of gas and several miles to go. I hope he made it all right.

And we sat and schvitzed. And listened to the radio. And cooked pasta after burning our fingers lighting the stove. And read by candlelight. And sniped good-naturedly at each other about the heat. And stood on the balcony and looked at the thousands of stars, which I hadn't seen so many of since a cast party at a director's house in Cazenovia, NY in college. And eventually dropped to sleep exhausted, quite secure in the knowledge that the power wasn't coming on anytime soon.

As far as I know, it's not on yet. I'm at my parents' house, because power is on in over 88% of the Island (where I apparently do not have the good fortune to live), and I have a show tonight. So I'm showering and doing a small wash (clean tights = a good thing), and checking the email I haven't seen for the past twenty-four hours. And squeezing in a diary update.

Stay cool, y'all.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com