but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

i just wanna dance
Wednesday, Jun. 20, 2007

Now Playing - all '80s, all the time.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - exhausted. Morning sex ruins me for the whole day.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Have you seen the backstage Australian Fiddler On the Roof dance video? If you haven't, go watch. I'll wait. What actors with a little ingenuity and a whole lot of time on their hands can do. I've gotten a little obsessed with the song. Turns out it's from Jerry Springer: The Opera (Here's a video that intersperses Alison Jiear's performance with movie dance clips. The woman belts an F# at the end.), and in trying to hunt the damn thing down, I found a Russian mp3 site, which I paid for using a German version of PayPal, and which offers music for pretty damn dirt cheap. [Must be the exchange rate ;-)] If I can get an album for $1.30 as opposed to iTunes' $9.99, well then paint me pink and call me a Commie.

So I've gone to town and am working through my misspent youth � A Flock of Seagulls, Art of Noise, The Buggles, Big Audio Dynamite, Belinda Carlisle, Bananarama, The Bangles, The B-52's, OMD, Scritti Politti, Style Council, Squeeze (do you honestly believe I have the focus or the patience to go in alphabetical order?)...plus other stuff ranging from Dinah Washington to The Partridge Family to Wilco. And four versions of "I Just Wanna Dance."

And a happy public-declaration-of-birthday-dom-a-day-late to scottmichael. Since he gave me the best mixtape I have.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
3 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com