but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

you know the way you feel when you smell bread baking
Sunday, Jan. 19, 2003

Now Playing -
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Loads of laundry done: 3
Small mirrors hung: 3
Framed pictures hung: 2
Dishes washed: lots
Air purifier filters changed: 1
Loaves of bread baked: 1

Re: the aforementioned small mirrors, and the French console table, which has also made its way into my home of late. When you "hand distress" the finish on an item, the point (in my opinion) would be to make the item look timeworn, aged, "antiquey," if you will. This would probably best be done by "roughing up" the finish on the item in a random fashion, and also by doing this sparingly. Less is more. When you scratch little hash marks onto the surface every other inch or so, and all over the item, it looks calculated and intentional and cheesy. There, I said it, it's out.

Moving on.

Even after an enjoyable time at Bobby's 50th birthday party last night, and several well-spaced alcoholic beverages throughout the course of the evening, and a slight cold and not very good sleep, I still had every intention of going to Patrick's vocal workshop this morning. Until I got halfway to the highway, and the station wagon started doing this chugging thing while stopped at a light, and the "Check Engine" light flashed once, twice, three times and stayed on. Stuck on the Northern State Parkway I did not need to be. I couldn't get it inspected on Friday because the inspection lift bay was full. We were going to go tomorrow afternoon after I gave blood, and hit the mall and buy Huz some pants while we waited. Instead we'll be there bright and early, to pop that sucker on the lift and see what's going on under there. Please let it pass inspection. Please let it be curable in one day's time. *BAM* "And this car is hee-a-yulled! Can I get an 'Amen'?"

I was going through our desk, looking for useless crap to purge, and came across the folder containing all the "stuff" from our wedding. Contracts and info and pictures and even copies of our vows. And there was much waxing nostalgic, and it was good. I said to The Huz as he left for his show, "We had a nice wedding."

"Yes, we did."

It was the best day of my life. And the best decision I ever made. I had not a moment's hesitation in deciding to share my life with this man. And re-reading our vows made me even more sure. It was a great day.

Marriage is not for everyone. I know people who, for all intents and purposes, are married, but may never officially "do the deed." And some who've done it before but are content in their committed relationships at present. And some who should never even think about marriage, being too terminally immature or just plain crazy. And some who, through fault of their own or not, may never find "the right one." It's not for everyone. But it is for me. And no-one was more surprised than I. Because I found someone who complements me. Who is smart and funny and tolerant and talented and sweet and giving and cripes, I'm gonna have to pass out insulin from all the sticky sweetness going on here! Apologies. I just feel damn lucky.

In case you'd like to see who I'm talking about, that's him.

That's him.

I'm making shrimp scampi for dinner, to be served over couscous with a green salad and herbed Italian bread (thank you, Mr. Breadman) accompanying. And then I fully intend to Buckle Down, Winsocki and work on some of the myriad shows I seem to find myself involved in these days.

Crunch time is T-minus 6 hours, and counting.

Wish me luck.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com