but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

i'll write about it...tomorrow
Sunday, Mar. 30, 2003

Now Playing - The Dead Zone. Ally Sheedy's looking fit. Much better than the heroin addict in High Art.
Now Eating - now digesting pasta with spinach, chickpeas & goat cheese. And garlic. Keep back 200 feet.
Now Feeling - tired. Another weekend bites the dust.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


So I got Kiss Me, Kate. Those of you who know me in real life, please keep this information on the QT.

I'm excited. And I hope things go smoothly.

Did my second Belle of Amherst today, and it went...unsmoothly. I definitely had a sixteen-days-removed case of "Second Show-itis," and screwed up a lot of things I shouldn't have. But David, bless his heart, said I covered well, and the audience was wonderful. They ovated me all over the place, and Jessica (the program director at this particular library, and the woman who got David started on all this in the first place) had to come backstage and noodge me back out there to take another bow. Because I was standing there beating myself up over all the stuff I missed. Which is (and I know this, and can't believe I got so wrapped up in myself) actually pretty damn rude, to disrespect your audience that way. Because they want to show their appreciation for you, and you should graciously accept it. Which I, of course, had to try and slough off, feeling as I did that I didn't truly deserve it. Why are we our own worst critics?

I did speak to some darling little old people. One man actually came backstage, and told me he grew up just a few miles from Amherst, and that I brought it all back to him. And kissed me on the cheek. Two other women (one was 93, and the other a spring chicken of only 86!) told me with tears in ther eyes how moved they were, how much it resonated with them (in them? for them?), and how I should "be on Broadway." Very sweet. And my parents were there, too. Which was nice.

Oy. I could go on about the rest of the weekend, but my kidney's still aching, and I'm pooped. And class evaluations start tomorrow, so I need to make a concerted effort to actually get to work on time for a change. So a good night's sleep would be a start.

Tomorruh is anothuh day.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com