but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

soup of the evening
Sunday, Nov. 19, 2006

Now Playing - Huz is bouncing between the Mayflower and the Shah of Iran.
Now Eating - soup!
Now Feeling - rested, mostly.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I spent a lovely day with The Fabulous, eating Chinese and strolling around Huntington village and talking and being slurped by her Westie, Jack.

And now I�m home. I made quick chicken soup (the recipe courtesy of the scottmichael/MO�C duo) for my ill husband. Due to his delicate constitution, I cut the amount of cayenne pepper in the recipe from 2 tsp. to less than � tsp., and it�s still making him break out in a sweat. The man�s a lightweight, but he�s my little lightweight. He stayed in all weekend, cancelled his Saturday gig and did nothing more strenuous than laundry. His cold is progressing normally, and he�s not too miserable. My poor baby.


A feeler arrived from the management company that took over our complex. Wanting to know whether we planned on renewing our lease, and raising our rent 90 bucks if we are. That�s double our biggest rent increase to date. Our lease isn�t up until January 31st, but the feeler�s due back to them by next weekend. The notice made me hyperventilate slightly. We need to find a way to get a 6 or 7 month lease, go month-to-month, or be able to break the lease with no financial liability (HA!) People at The Little Law School know the people who run our management company, but I don�t know how much pull they would have. I have to call the condo office this week and see if things are going according to schedule, if the estimated move-in date is still accurate. They had said that Phase One of the complex (the 55+ community across the street from ours) would be ready for occupancy by last August. The past couple of times I drove by, it didn�t look like anyone was living there. This was as recent as last month. In that regard, it could almost be to our benefit if construction were delayed. We�d be paying off less of a full year�s lease. I just don�t want to pay 6 months of rent on top of our mortgage. That�s the worst-case scenario.

I�m going to stop thinking about that now. I think I�ll have some soup.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com