but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

a delight in this order
Monday, Sept. 25, 2006

Now Playing - the Met game - there is much Mr. Met this evening, and I am so happy.
Now Eating - Lean Cuisine Thai-Style Chicken.
Now Feeling - slightly unwell.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I have a Joan tomorrow: the last for a while, possibly ever. I�d expressed to Rick on the way home from a 451 that I wouldn�t exactly mind if David took it off his roster, and lo and behold! Not a week later David emailed me to say he was considering it. I just don�t enjoy it. I didn�t like Joan Crawford before doing it (even after reading David�s book) and I�m not too fond of her now. The show is difficult (six million prerecorded sound cues � GAH! Rick: �Why couldn�t he have made all the phone rings consistent? Say, three each?� Me: �I don�t KNOW!!!�), I don�t get to relate to the audience (all the action�s supposed to be inside Joan�s head) and�it�s work, not fun. Contrast that with Belle, which is twice as long and just as much of a bitch to remount. But I love the character and love performing it.

That said, I enjoy the ritual of preparing for a show. I was just filling my dance bag with everything I need for tomorrow: shoes, hairpins, jewelry, tights, makeup�thinking it through to make sure there was nothing I�d missed. It�s soothing in a way.

Soothing has been in short supply. I feel a cold coming on, and my back is on the verge of going out. I spent last week hauling boxes and dumping files for the Big Move that is scheduled for next week but may not actually happen. New Dean and I visited the site last Wednesday, and we were shocked to see how much was still undone. The Big Dean is supposed to decide this Wednesday (pending a meeting with the contractor and site manager) whether all will proceed as planned. Trouble is, we�re supposed to close up shop here next week. We�ve been packing up our offices. Some departments have over 80 boxes piled in the halls. How are we supposed to possibly put this off until January?

I�m trying not to think about it. I�m going to close my eyes and do what I�m told. No sense worrying about something over which you have no control.

Less than half an hour �til Studio 60 and My Sorkin Fix. Have a good night.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com