but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

how love is rare, and life is strange
Friday, Jun. 21, 2002

Now Playing - in my head - "Old Friends" from I'm Getting My Act Together And Taking It On The Road
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Had dinner with P. & E. last night. It's been a little over a year since we've all been together, and, as always, it feels as if we haven't skipped a beat. We eat and laugh and talk about things that matter, and revel in our companionship. Amazing to me how close we stay, even with the miles and lives between us. So I write this in appreciation of something altogether too rare in this world.

E., thank you for your nurturing spirit, which touches everyone and everything that crosses your path. I admire your ability to balance life, and art, and work and motherhood. You are doing your best by J.; no child could ask for a better mother. That is the one indelible mark you will always be able to know you left on this world.

P., I admire you for your forthrightness, and your honesty. You're creating a place for yourself in this world, and the fact that you can do this by yourself and for yourself is amazing to me. Make sure you take time to enjoy the journey, and the experiences it brings. And may you find someone to walk that path with you.

I love you both.

And if I had a camera
Showing all the light we give
And showing where the light extends
I'd give it to my friends

Sometimes I see myself fine, sometimes
I need a witness
And I like the whole truth
But there are nights I only need forgiveness
Sometimes they say "I don't know who you are
But let me walk with you some"
And I say "I am alone, that's all
You can't save me from all the wrong I've done."
But they're waiting just the same
With their flashlights and their semaphores
And I'll act like I have faith and like that faith never ends
But I really just have friends

Dar Williams - "My Friends"


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com