but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

on a wedding other than my own
Saturday, Jul. 19, 2003

Now Playing - Elvis Costello, "Pump It Up." I think it'd be interesting to try & sing "Subterranean Homesick Blues" along to that.
Now Eating - cotton candy ices. Not as good as it sounds.
Now Feeling - pooped.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Huz stayed in bed later than I did this morning. If you look out your window, you ought to see those Four Horsemen heading up your street right...about...now.

Geeze, one Marlboro Light and two shots of Jack Daniels and I feel like Janis Joplin Junior. Sometimes I can be such a lightweight.

Saw the Improv show after ours last night. Suzanne didn't do the show, and lordy, was there way too much testosterone onstage! Toilet humor abounded.

Thursday's show felt too much like a warm-up for my liking. I felt I came on too hard, and in just four short days had wandered too far away from my character. It took until the second act to hunker down and focus. Last night's show was much better. And we got a nice local review that may be on its way to drumming up some business.

And I'm still fighting the Evil Phlegm of Death, so yesterday I called the doctor to ask for a refill of Humibid. I'm liking my doctor more and more, because he authorized a 25 day supply and gave me two refills! The pills helped, but the voice lesson did not. Too much hard singing before I had to do Bat Boy was not a good idea. I'll try for a mid-week lesson next week.

I can't stand these things. They always seem to me like they're silently screaming. Gives me the willies. "And why are you looking at Christmas figurines, Mel?" you ask. Because today I got a catalog that contained the little buggers. Christmas in July, my ass.

I've visited Winterthur. Summer of '97, I believe it was. I took a road trip with three friends from my old job. One was no longer working there, and was getting married a few months later (to our boss), so it was a "last hurrah" before her wedding. She was very closemouthed during the trip (what bride-to-be does not want to talk about her wedding unless prodded?), and we had the feeling things were not going well. And those feelings were confirmed at the wedding, and by the fact that they broke up about six months later.

Our boss, E., was in his late twenties at the time, a veteran of one divorce already. He started dating R. about four months after the divorce was finalized, and they were engaged within a year. E. was Jewish, with a pretty strange family life. One very needy younger brother (who called almost every day and was nearly unintelligible on the phone), and an older, married sister who was living in Israel in some sort of religious cult. R. was Catholic, quite religious, and her family life was odd as well. She didn't tell her father she was engaged for months because she feared his reaction. Her mother knew, but not her father. Ostensibly it was a "religion" thing, but we almost felt like there was some strange relationship between R. and her father. I mean, Daddy losing his "little girl" is one thing, but she honestly feared that he would flip out. Anyway, E. and R. were in therapy during the engagement, and there were doubts as to whether they'd go through with it. But they did.

We shlepped down on a rainy Sunday to some drafty mansion on a river in Pennsylvania or south Jersey somewhere. Her parents spent a fortune on the wedding. String trio during the cocktail hour, passed hors d'oeuvres and buffet tables in different rooms, a local cover band that R. loved that did medleys from four different decades with costume changes and cost $10,000.... They were married by a priest, and a former cow-orker who was some type of Jewish scholar and was allowed to officiate ceremonies. They had a ketubah, the traditonal Jewish "marriage contract." At one point, as part of the vows, sections from the ketubah were read aloud. R. had to recite something along the lines of "...and honor you as a Jewish wife honors her husband." We sat on the groom's side, and at that point, R. was facing us. The phrase was read, and while we waited for her to repeat it, she mouthed to E., in full view of us and the videographer, "But I'm not Jewish!" There it was, preserved for posterity on videotape. Wouldn't it have been a good idea to read through the document before the ceremony? You could just tell this was gonna be a successful marriage.

As I said, six months later, they were kaput. E., the pathological liar and gambling addict, gambled away the $10,000 they received from the wedding. She went back home to Jersey, and I think got an anullment. He left his job with us (after a series of suspicious locker room thefts that we suspect he helped engineer in order to pay off his bookie, a young punk who had worked there briefly), and moved to Ohio and got engaged to his assistant at the new place. For all we know, he could be on his third divorce by now.

And when I had jury duty a few months ago, I heard his name called. Of course, it could have been someone else with that name, but I could just see him keeping his mailing address at his parent's house and blowing it off. Once a creep, always a creep.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com