but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

manifest destiny
Tuesday, Apr. 10, 2007

Now Playing - the news.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - pooped.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Anne-Carolyn linked to this post a while back, and also to one of her own. They speak of what A-C calls "manifesting," and what I've known as "creative visualization." I've used it before, to some degree of success, and am trying to incorporate it more and more into of my life, professionally and personally.

On the personal front, I noticed a while back that eliminating the toxicity from my life just simply made me happier. This may come as a shock to some of you [], but in general I'm a pretty cranky person. While I wouldn't exactly say I've "mellowed" with age, I've noticed that I gravitate more toward the people who are good for me. The majority of my friends are settled and in collective good places in their lives, and happy, and I've found much less need for the drah-mah. So I associate less with the people who thrive upon it. Whether it's removing myself from the vicinity of a Diva who's mid-Fit, having less contact with the friend who'd send little barbs my way to boost her own "self-worth," or simply not playing the reindeer games that lord knows ABOUND in theatre (which yes, I've been unwillingly involved in for the past couple of weeks and which, much to my relief, have been resolved satisfactorily (and yes, the entry was removed at the request of one of the parties involved)), it's just a much more pleasant way to be.

In my professional life, I'm trying to think of this as The Year of Why Not? Why Not get most everything I wish for? Why Not have opportunities pop out of nowhere, and from people I thought didn�t even know I existed? Why Not believe in myself for once? How difficult could it be?

To quote this guy I know, "Let the year begin."


And now, with apologies to Dooce, How to Tick Me Off:

~Proclaim loudly when you enter the office as I'm eating my lunch, "It STINKS in here!"

~When the iPod brings up a charming song from my childhood, proclaim (again, loudly) "What ARE you listening to?" When I tell you it's a song by one of my namesakes, from before you were born (okay, my sarcasm was intentional there), reply "It sounds like from before my GRANDMOTHER was born."

New Dean endears herself to me more and more as each day goes by. And now we have to chip in and buy her a wedding gift and throw her a little shower. Thank G-d she didn't invite us to the wedding. The sixteen days (SIXTEEN! And that's sixteen WORKING days � I'm not counting weekends! She's been here since September and gets to take off that long?) without her this month will be bliss.


So I was rather inappropriately flirted with at a party a couple of weeks ago. Inappropriately, because the guy should know through the grapevine that I'm married, and if not, should be able to tell by the rings on my finger. There was plying with many drinks, much "I don't understand my ex-girlfriend" (a novel spin on "my wife doesn�t understand me" if ever I heard it) and at the end of the night, an intended cheek kiss that was intercepted by a pair of unwelcome lips. And by the crack of...early afternoon (did I mention the many drinks?) the next day, I'd been friended on myspace and chattily emailed. I feel bad for him, as he's really hurting after the (not unexpected) breakup, but he's always stricken me as oogie to begin with, and this certainly raised the Oogie Factor.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com