but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

laundry and, well, no bourbon
Tuesday, Oct. 08, 2002

Now Playing - a rerun of Law & Order, and, in my head, The Last Five Years. Thanks, R.
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


PMS Symptom of the Month: Hypersensitive Sense of Smell for a hundred, Alex.

I'm sitting at my computer desk, computing, natch. The desk is about twenty feet from the front door, and I'm thinking I'm going crazy because all I can smell is rank, cheapass tiparillo smoke. And I'm thinking, "Okay, we were around smokers for several hours Saturday night, but that was three days ago and none of the clothes we wore are in the general vicinity. What smells?"

Open the front door. Ugh. Our brain trust of a super must have been smoking in the vestibule with a buddy, just like he was last night. Last night...the Night of the Almost Dead Laundry Room.

Got home nice and early, computed a bit, and then went to launder. Surprise! New washers! New (fixed-price-a-buck-twenty-five-per-half-hour-like-it-or-not) dryers! A small puddle on the floor, and no pipe above it that could be leaking, but okay, moving along. I put in a load. Come back half an hour later. Hm. Light's still on, but nobody's agitating, and there's a big ol' puddle on the floor. Crap. Go back toward my lobby where "Super-man" is smoking. "You have to ask wife. She take care of machines." Ask wife. Taking care of machines involves looking inside, pushing the agitator around, slamming the lid, checking hoses and plugs and coming to the conclusion, "Is broken." Thanks. Slop my soaking wet laundry to another machine. Lather, rinse, repeat. Call for a refund (okay, stop laughing, it's not nice!) Dry. Fold. You know the drill.

Whee, it's an evening in the life of a mod housewife! Don't ya wish you were me?


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com