but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

the ghee club
Friday, May. 30, 2003

Now Playing - the Food Network. Everybody GHEE!
Now Eating - egg matzoh with cream cheese.
Now Feeling - like I should be asleep.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


My Word of the Moment: ghee. It's a form of clarified butter used in Indian cooking. And it's fun to say. Go on, try it! Ghee!

Speaking of which, when are you ever gonna take me out for some Indian food, Ashu? And how are you, by the way?

The drugs seem to be doing their stuff. I'm less the Ugly Snot Monster than I've been the past few days. I get tired and achy at night, though. I may have to bring TheraFlu with me to the show.

And speaking of which (again and differently), our music director is still unwell, and will be needing surgery. So we have our matinee sub back, except for the five performances he can't do. Then we'll have the sub's sub. Anyone need a diagram? I'd be happy to oblige.

So I stayed home today, and will tomorrow. And at about 2:45 this afternoon, our power went out. So much for anything ambitious I was considering attempting between bouts of rest. All I could do was...read. And clean a little. And realize how spoiled I am by gadgets and electricity. No microwaveable lunch. No radio, no tv. I actually had to answer the phone! Twice!

Placed my automated outage call to the power company (since they've apparently wised up and gotten tired of folks screaming at them) and waited. And waited. Nearly three whole hours of no internet access went by. I called again. "We apologize for your service outage due to emergency repairs in your area. We estimate that service will be restored by 9 p.m." 9 p.m.??? What the hell am I gonna do until then? Don't you know I'm sick? What kind of sick day will this be if I can't putz around online, watch bad game shows and talk shows and eat crappy food? Out came every candle in creation. (Might as well set them all up before nightfall.) On came the power fifteen minutes later. A one-woman Donner Party narrowly averted.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com