but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

friends and family
Saturday, Nov. 04, 2006

Now Playing - the annoying Debbie Travis, on HGTV.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - jittery.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I just got off the phone with The Fabulous, who was just calling to see how I was (�Medicated! And home alone, but by choice!�). And yesterday I was at Joy�s for four hours (3 hours talking, 1 hour actual singing). And this morning there was a long email from Jill in my inbox, extolling the virtues of medication. Heh.

I have good girlfriends.


Part of the marathon chat with Joy involved family, and the frustrations therewith. Reconciling the love you feel for my family with the utter thankfulness that I am not one of them.

I do love them, but I still marvel that I turned out as I did under their care.

And I love my husband, but every trip home after visiting my folks turns into a postmortem. Every conversation is dissected, and I sit there in the dark, heading south on the Seaford-Oyster Bay thinking, �Do we have to talk about this?� Finally, last week I snapped. Nicely, though. I said to Huz, �Y�know what? DIVORCE me! You can get out, I can�t! I�m stuck with them!� All things considered, he got off easy. His mother�s losing her mind, his father�s dead. And granted, they left us alone most of the time, but there were still things I could have complained about to him.

Some of the things that frustrate my husband are things I don�t even notice anymore; I�m so used to them. He asked me once if I got tired of my father�s constant negativity. Amazingly enough, it�s something that just rolls off my back; I�ve dealt with it so long. Yes, his overemotional response to things and obsessiveness have been exacerbated by the stroke, but they�re traits that have always been there. I only worry when they endanger his health, like the recent episode where he was convinced he had leukemia when all he had was a rash. Sure, Dad, skyrocket your blood pressure over a rash.

And I know they�d like me to confide in them more, but I can�t - because I know the inevitable reaction. I tell them I�m depressed and on medication, and I�ll be subjected to round-the-clock phone calls (from both of them, because do you think they could bother checking with each other to see who�s got the latest?): �How do you feel today? Do you feel any better? How are you doing? Do you think the medication�s working? Maybe you should call your doctor and ask him to put you on something else�.� Ad nauseam, ad infinitum.


Anyone else hate those VW �Safe Happens� car crash ads as much as I do? Especially this one? Holy PTSD, Batman.

Although I can watch that Rozerem commercial with the hip Abe Lincoln and the grouchy beaver Over. And. Over.

(And Duff? I think you�d make a kickass hip Abe Lincoln.)


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
3 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com