but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

think warm thoughts
Friday, Jan. 24, 2003

Now Playing - "Hey, Duck" aka "Confession" - Richard Shindell
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Friday Five time...

1. What is one thing you don't like about your body? That there's a little more of it right now than there should be.

2. What are two things you love about your body? My hair, and my flexibility. I give good stretch.

3. What are three things you want to change about your home? The bathroom: it could really use a complete overhaul and it has no "design scheme" to speak of. More storage space in the kitchen. And I MISS MY DISHWASHER!

4. What are four books you want to read this year? Savage Beauty - a bio of Edna St. Vincent Millay, Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential, MFK Fisher's The Art of Eating, and a bio of Lillian Hellman that's been kicking around at home.

5. What are five promises you have kept to yourself? I'm really not sure how to answer this question. I can only equate it with things I've set out to do and accomplished with a little help from creative visualization. I can think of two roles I've gotten that I knew I should get, and I knew we should have the apartment we're now in, so much so that I would stop in the parking lot on my way to what was then "home" and look up at the building and say under my breath, "Okay, you can get out of our apartment now." Is that weird? Call me stalker, then.


Know what I can't stand? Those pictures (some with neon lighting "accents") that usually show Marilyn Monroe, James Dean, Humphrey Bogart and occasionally Elvis hanging out together. The most common one I've seen is Boulevard of Broken Dreams, a bastardization of Edward Hopper's Nighthawks. When I was in the framing store a couple of weeks ago, I saw a whole bunch of these, the most ridiculous showing James Dean shooting pool while Marilyn, Bogie and The Three Stooges(!) looked on. The Three Stooges? Come on.

It's fun browsing on AllPosters, but since I am running out of wallspace very quickly, it's an exercise in futility.

Rehearsals are going well enough, but they're tiring. Especially when I run right there from work. I've been cranking the mix cd R. made me to stay awake while driving. Plus, the cold is killing me. The station wagon takes so long to warm up, and work is cold and the theatre is cold and I walk around chilled to the bone all day. I'm dehydrated, and my skin is dry dry dry.

The only consolation is, though it's cold everywhere else, our apartment is warm warm warm. I can't imagine what it would be like in our old place right now. When we first moved in, the thermostat worked well enough. It was never sweltering, but it was comfortable. Our landlord replaced it with one that topped out at 70 degrees. It was never a true 70 though, more like 68 on a good day. Our bedroom would drop down to 63 degrees at night. Not good for two people who don't run hot! We got space heaters, our landlord saw them, and had a shouting match with Huz, who implied that Landlord turned off the heat when he left for work. Huz works odd hours, and some days he'd notice that suddenly there was no heat after a certain point. Landlord denied it, and told Huz to get rid of the heaters or < insert gesture of "hitting the proverbial road" here >. We stayed, natch, and he seemed to be a tad more liberal with the heat. But it was never enough. We had a fireplace, yeah, but unless you're Pioneer Woman, how practical is that? Smelling like smoked gouda and wiping soot off every exposed surface is not my idea of a good time.

My first post-Disney Land lesson with Joy is today, and then off to rehearsal (again) because we have this benefit thingy tomorrow night. And we're off Sunday because our director will be watching the Super Bowl. Whaddaya know? Football's good for something!

Enjoy!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com