but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

�and now, the n3wburgh free library in an act of desperation�
Thursday, Apr. 06, 2006

Now Playing - in my head: �Wicked Little Town� � which version of Hedwig to buy, Off-Broadway or movie?
Now Eating - drinking, water.
Now Feeling - hungry.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


That was me, Sunday. Rick (of David-and-Rick fame) and I trekked up to N3wburgh, NY where I performed Belle for a very appreciative audience of fifty-or-so. The desperation is because I was jobbed in when the actress the library had originally hired backed out. We enjoyed a leisurely drive up into the Catskills where I observed the first forsythia and willows commencing to weep. And reaping the bounty of the Sloatsburg rest stop � overpriced mediocre Sbarro pizza and renewed love for Starbucks caramel hot cider. The show went very well. Much better than Saturday�s show, where I dropped a line right out of the gate (Emily�s birthdate, of all things) and was thrown for the rest of the show. That, and there was a huge clock on the back wall. So between blowing the line and being extremely conscious of just how much time I had to fill (�I have forty minutes left? How can I fill forty minutes? Did I skip something else???�), my mind was muy occupado with things other than being Emily.

Sunday went so well, in fact, that I may have a pending gig for the Little Sisters of N3wburgh, or somethingorother. There were several sisters there Sunday, and one eighty-something nun told me it was one of the best things she�d every seen, �and I�ve been around a long time!� I was a little leery of making eye contact with her, especially considering Emily�s talk of her rejection of organized religion. Felt the same way when my mom�s boss brought a nun to see Bat Boy. Hello, murder? Incest? Inter-species rape? But it�s funny; sometimes the most religious people in an audience can be the most open-minded. Nice to see, especially given the current climate of �My G-d is better than your G-d.�



Monday I had my second gramming-of-the-mams. When last we met, The Singing Gynecologist had not received my records from my old doctor, so he wanted me to have one for his files. It went swimmingly, and is now all high-tech digital to boot. I got to see my boobs in all their near-transparent, symmetrical glory. And the results arrived in my mailbox yesterday: negative, with a side order of benign tissues present. Now on to the dental hygienist, and endocrinologist, and ophthalmologist, and internist....



I finally managed to hook up the iPod Road Trip on my way to work this morning, thus confirming that the cigarette lighter in my car does indeed work. I had my doubts, as previously I couldn�t get a cheesy little car air ionizer to show any signs of life. But it works, and now I have access The Preciousss on the road! And there was much rejoicing throughout the land. And singing along with obscure show tunes.

Confidential to she-knows-who: Happy Birthday!

Confidential to he-knows-who: it was very good to hear your voice the other day. And even better to hear it in the car this morning.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com