but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

three days late, howevermany dollars short
Monday, Mar. 03, 2003

Now Playing - "Like Humans Do" - David Byrne
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


A belated Friday Five...

1. What is your favorite type of literature to read (magazine, newspaper, novels, nonfiction, poetry, etc.)? Lordy. Biography, true crime, poetry, horror, decorating, cheesy girl-stuff magazines, the comics, menus...you name it, I'll read it.

2. What is your favorite novel? I've always been fond of de Beauvoir's She Came to Stay, because at times it's paralleled situations in my life, and also because it's existential without being too existential.

3. Do you have a favorite poem? (Share it!) Not my absolute favorite per se, but it's a short one, so I'll share:

You fit into me
like a hook into an eye
A fish hook
An open eye
~Margaret Atwood~
I also love Yeats' "When you are old" and Millay's Sonnet XLVII ("Well, I have lost you, and I lost you fairly") - good, wistful poems.

4. What is one thing you've always wanted to read, or wish you had more time to read? I won't say The Bible, and I won't say Ulysses or Dante's Inferno. No such grand pseudo-intellectual aspirations. Maybe those 30 pages of Atlas Shrugged I can never make it through.

5. What are you currently reading? My script for The Belle of Amherst, which has its first performance March 14! 75 minutes of all me!!!


No energy to update. Friday's show was...odd. I was not in good voice (tired from my lesson) and there were these imbeciles in the audience who ruined the show for me. Three women, one older and two younger (younger like my age) in the second row house left, who did nothing but giggle and make comments during the entire show. It started with my first notes in the opening, and went all the way through the finale, when Frank sang, "And now...the end is near..." and one of them said loudly enough for me to hear stage left, "Thank G-d!" Idiots. Some folks shouldn't be allowed out in public. Saturday's show was much better, performance- and audience-wise.

And yesterday, we went out to dinner with my parents, for my mother's (and by extension my belated) birthday. We all had a nice time, my father tipped appropriately, they got their "children fix" for a while, and nobody snipped at each other. And we actually got to the restaurant five minutes earlier than they did! Minor miracle, for the couple who are fashionably late for life!

I'm auditioning for The Music Man tonight. I've been directed to "kick vocal butt" by Joy. Hopefully this will occur.

Ta!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com