but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

code id duh dose
Sunday, May. 25, 2003

Now Playing - the Valley of the Dolls soundtrack.
Now Eating - nothing I can taste.
Now Feeling - stuffy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I hab a code. The one consolation is that it got me out of singing at graduation. I did much sleeping in, and will concentrate on resting for the remainder of the weekend. Graduation was becoming a small travesty, thanks in part to the idiot professor who was supposed to be the accompanist. Who never rehearsed with me, and who got so het up about finding out what key I would be singing in, only to ask me, "Well, could you do it in this key instead?" And then we had the student who wanted to sing, then was too scared to sing, then took some voice lessons to see if he'd be up to singing...feh. Too much drama for a long train ride/shlep to the Upper West Side/spend the day with work people on my day off.

So yeah, I'm sick, thanks to one of my fellow cast members who couldn't stop being his huggy-kissy, touchy-feely self even though he was a walking germ factory. Ah, well. It was bound to happen in such close quarters, especially since there are quite a few of us feeling under the weather. The good thing is, I have five days 'til the next show - plenty of time to recuperate. I'm using Zicam, which is this zinc gluconate gel nasal spray that several foks I know swear by. It seemed to help at first, but since practically every cold I get takes up residence in my sinuses and refuses to leave, I'm not sure how it'll react to a cold-turned-infection. Can't hurt, might help.

Two good, solid shows this weekend. And a lot of great feedback from theatre people. I'm really having a wonderful time with this, and I'm so glad to be doing it. Joy seems to think it was all fate, and I'm inclined to agree with her. Because who would have thought a year ago when I was talking to the Head Honcha at the other theater about getting the rights to Music Man, and getting myself all psyched up for it, that I'd be back at a theater where I hadn't worked for nearly ten years, working for a director I never thought I'd even speak to again, and having such a wonderful time? Stranger things have happened, I'm sure, but not lately. And not to this girl.

I have discovered an unconscionable error in grammar in a previous post, courtesy of a search engine hit. In an entry about shoes (of which there've been more than a few), I referred to my favorite pair as Nine Wet suede pumps. Gah. Suffice to say, the error has been corrected, and a written apology to the good people at Nine West will follow. But the guy who was looking for wet shoes...?


Yeesh. After all that blather, I go and forget the important stuff. Awhile back, Golfwidow gave me flowers for adding her to my buddy list (because she's quool, that's why). And I had the idea to put the flower icon into my table in une place d'honneur. Down there. Keep scrolling. See? But I'm enough of an HTML 'tard that I couldn't do it myself, so whom did I hit up? The lovely, the talented Golfwidow. And she graciously obliged, and therefore deserves a bouquet herself. And apologies for not mentioning it sooner. I blame duh code.


In honor of Memorial Day, another flower.

The poppy is symbolically associated with Veteran's Day/Remembrance Day, but tomorrow's a day of remembrance, too. The poppy links to the text of John McRae's poem In Flanders Field. It's a personal favorite of mine.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com