but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

all i want for Christmas (and Hanukkah) is you
Saturday, Dec. 20, 2003

Now Playing - nada.
Now Eating - Crackers & dip.
Now Feeling - Back-achy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Finals are aaaaalmost over. There were no major disasters, thankfully. But the twelve to fourteen hour days, Monday to Thursday for the past two weeks were especially wearying. Still, I think I�ve managed to get most of my holiday shopping done.

~ My mother-in-law is getting this, to remind her of New York, and snow, and church at Christmas.
~ Huz is getting this �cause he loves The Beatles, and this because we�d both wanted to see it when it came out, and never did. He�s also getting cologne, and a casual Izod red cotton sweater and a nice purple dress shirt. Doll that he is, he got me a lovely amethyst Star of David for Hanukkah. I really wasn�t expecting anything, and he�s never given me any Jew-elry before, so I was really surprised. No card though, because he said he only saw really crappy ones.

�Why can�t your people write any decent Hanukkah cards?�
�Probably because we�re too busy writing cards for your people!�
~ The Boss is getting a gift certificate to Legal from the Partner in Crime and me, and The Partner in Crime is getting earrings.
~ HB is getting a vaguely Celtic earrings-and-necklace set from J.Jill as a combined birthday/Christmas present, and Bill will probably get something by John Coltrane, as HB says he�s been into him lately.
~ My brother and his bride are getting a gift card, my niece and nephew are getting cash.The newest baby cousin in the family is getting this, and the other young cousins will probably get books/stuffed animals/Barbies depending on which one of us shops for them where.
~ Of course, there are other people who may be getting other things, but since they read this, I�m not telling.

So far, we�ve gotten Christmas photo cards featuring one infant, two toddlers (twins), two dogs and. . . one iguana. Fabulous. All G-d�s chubby, fluffy and scaly creatures enjoying the season. More power to �em.

The Five
1. List your five favorite beverages. Dr. Pepper, Dr. Brown�s Cream Soda, good shiraz, Malibu & Coke, really good champagne.
2. List your five favorite websites. Diaryland (natch), snopes, The Straight Dope, Amazon, and Castle of Spirits.
3. List your five favorite snack foods. Cheese, El Paso Chile Co.'s Chipotle Cha-Cha-Cha salsa, my hot crab dip, Seven Layer Mexican Dip (can you see I�m all about the dips, here?), mini quiches.
4. List your five favorite board and/or card games. Trivial Pursuit, Celebrity, Life, War, Spit. I once spent the entire run of a show playing Spit with two friends (we�d alternate) whenever I was free backstage. It was ruthless and nasty. And fun!
5. List your five favorite computer and/or game system games. I�ve been playing Pop & Drop and Nisqually on Netster, because it�s not blocked by our work firewall, Battleship (say it with me now, �You sank my battleship!�), Bookworm, and Text Twist.

Okay, time to get my ass into the shower and then go carol it off. Happy second night of Hanukkah, y'all.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
5 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com