but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

same old lang syne
Wednesday, Dec. 24, 2008

Now Playing -
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


1. What did you do in 2008 that you'd never done before?
Adopted an animal of my own, and he is my little baby and I love him.
2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions and will you make more for next year?
Last year's resolutions were, "For the New Year, I hope to get back into exercising, lose ten pounds, be a better friend and focus more. Be it on what's important, on the task at hand, on everything. Focus." Epic FAIL on all except maybe being a better friend. And maybe a demi-FAIL on the focus thing. Next year? I would like to continue to foster the friendships in my life, and cultivate the ones that have sprung back into my life. Say what you will about Facebook, but anything that has gotten me back in touch with loved ones from my past in the way that it has cannot be all bad.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
No. Teeny Dean certainly doesn't count.
4. Did anyone close to you die?
Two dear friends, and the grandmother of another dear friend.
5. What countries did you visit?
None.
6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?
Less sorrow.
7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
May 16.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Just making it through. As Sondheim would say, "Keeping control while falling apart."
9. What was your biggest failure?
Not performing as well as I could have in The Light in the Piazza. See #10.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Laryngitis, for the first time and quite badly.
11. What was the best thing you bought?
Considering that we did have to pay a fee for him, the kitty.
12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My friends, who held my hand and wiped my tears, and whose very presence made all the difference.
13. Whose behavior made you appalled or depressed?
That of certain politicians. And certain members of my extended family.
14. Where did most of your money go?
The Barbie Dream Condo.
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Doing Curtains next March. I knew about it midway through '08, so I'm counting it. And getting on the ferry, each and every time.
16. What song will always remind you of 2008?
That infernal "Please Don't Stop The Music" song by Rihanna. I actually had to Google to find out who it was. Damn thing was EVERYWHERE.
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a. happier or sadder? Sadder.
b. thinner or fatter? Fatter.
c. richer or poorer? Poorer.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Relaxing (although I did plenty of that). Lying on the beach (ditto). Performing, but not half the bloody summer.
19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Grieving. Angsting over money. Crying.
20. How did you spend Christmas?
Christmas will be spent with Huz's cousins (barring complications from Huz's cousin-in-law's surgery), and later with Bill and H.B.
21. Did you fall in love in 2008?
Still.
22. How many one-night stands?
None.
23. What was your favorite TV program?
I got to watch a bit of Californication thanks to The Huz, and kinda liked it.
24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
No.
25. What was the best book you read?
Attack of the Theater People by Mark Acito.
26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
No-one new I can think of, but I did hearken back to a lot of the 80s New Wave of my youth.
27. What did you want and get?
A kitty. A really good digital SLR. A vacation. A massage.
28. What did you want and not get?
Roles in shows, but not for lack of trying.
29. What was your favorite film of this year?
I haven't seen one new movie this year. But Enchanted and Moulin Rouge were great fun.
30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Went to a callback for a show, adopted a kitty and went out for a delicious meal with The Huz. The following week I had another lovely dinner and night on the town in NYC with my two dearest friends. And I turned the big four-oh.
31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Less drama.
32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
Whatever fits.
33. What kept you sane?
Again, the love of a good man, my music, and my friends.
34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I think Aaron Peirsol's pretty cute.
35. What political issue stirred you the most?
The whole damn election. I still can't believe it turned out the way it did.
36. Who did you miss?
Brent. So much.
37. Who was the best new person you met?
Kelly, who's not exactly new, but we got a lot closer this year, and she's a good, smart (and those who know me know what a compliment that is) girl who I'd like to keep around for a good long while.
38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.
Anything can happen - never forget to say "I love you."
39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
"If you find him where he's dancing with his lover or his jailer,
Say in April's splendid mansions I lay broken by his trailer in the snows.
It's always winter when he goes."

"Winter When He Goes," from Tracy Grammer's album Flower of Avalon. Lyrics by Dave Carter.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com