but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

will wonders never cease? will wonders never cease?
Wednesday, Oct. 12, 2005

Now Playing - smoove jazz.
Now Eating - nothing yet....
Now Feeling - mediocre.
Now Tweeting - Melanie



From: The Boss
Sent: Wed 10/12/2005 10:46 AM
To: Usually Nice But Now Really Annoying Prof
Cc: Melwadel
Subject: RE: Midterm
I concur wholeheartedly w/Melanie's sentiments. I think some of your students need a talk on professionalism. I recommend you consider the students who did not turn in a midterm, or who showed up with 5 minutes left for the exam for the 1/3 down for class participation/attendance.



From: Melwadel
Sent: Wed 10/12/2005 10:40 AM
To: Usually Nice But Now Really Annoying Prof
Cc: The Boss
Subject: RE: Midterm
One student (# XXXXX) who showed up with about 15 minutes left (and took a portion of the test), and two students (#s YYYYY & ZZZZZ) who showed up with about 5 minutes left decided not to submit their papers to you since "the exam did not count." Several students also expressed their reluctance to follow exam procedures since "the exam did not count." Please impress upon your students the importance of following exam procedures (as they will have to do for the next three years) even if "the exam does not count."

My boss has my back for the second time in a month!

It�s not enough that I have to sit and proctor an exam (in my still-fragile condition) for a prof who gets paid at least four times as much as I do because he wanted an extra day off. I then get to deal with students flippin� me �tude because the exam �doesn�t count.� �Can I take a copy of the test with me? No? Why? It �doesn�t count!�� �I don�t see why you�re making such a big deal about anonymity on this exam. After all, it �doesn�t count!�� �Why do we have to follow procedure? This test �doesn�t count!�� Are you gonna try that on the New York State Bar Exam, bucko?

Last week�s students were such a breeze. I guess this is the �difficult section.� There�s one every year. If they�re lucky, they get at least one prof who�s strong enough to handle them. This particular prof is more-than-a-little Caspar Milquetoast-y. We�ll see what his response is to my (IMHO) more-than-a-little-justified snark.

Or maybe I�ll just puke on him. That�ll larn �im.

I am feeling better, but the stomach is still a mite delicate. I�m going to refrain from fasting for the holiday. Bad Jew. Here�s a cookie. Make it treyf.


In less than 24 hours, I will be leaving 100% humidity to travel to�100% humidity.

No justice, no peace. Especially for my hair, which seems to be resisting the ministrations of every styling product and implement I own.

Ah, well. I�ll just shove it up in a ponytail, because ::cue Connie Francis:: �I�m on vay-cayyyy-shunnn !�

We are going to lie by the pool, as it�s going to be warmish. The pollen count is high (my mention of which just inspired The Boss to say �The only good thing about Vietnam was that my allergies disappeared.�), but we�re prepared. The outlet mall�s a mile away. There is conch and grouper to be eaten, and a young gay waiter here who appreciates my wearing Egyptian Musk. There is potential scary dinner theatre!

Sun, shopping, seafood and showtunes. See you in a week.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
4 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com