but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

who loves you more, baby?
Tuesday, Apr. 29, 2008

Now Playing - "Careless" - Amos Lee. Hm.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - almost regretful.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I should have realized this from the start.

I married a man who is beloved of children and animals (and certain homosexuals).

Should it come as any surprise that Dadda is the Favored Human around here?

It's not like I'm completely ignored, only...mostly. Someone else gets followed when he leaves a room. Someone else's lap is more sittable. Someone else gets snuggled with and slept on at night (okay, I'm not complaining about that � I rather enjoy sleeping without having to contort myself around a furry, ten-pound bowling ball.) But there are greetings when I get home, and love bites, and Huz says he can tell the sound of my car door slamming. And I do get to do a fair amount of Corporal Cuddling.

And there are other Good Things. A few weeks ago, I was home feeding Ernest his lunch. A call came in and since I didn't recognize the number, I let the machine pick up. From the other room I could hear a woman's voice, and when she said the words "Smithtown Animal Shelter" I rushed in and picked up the phone. She was the woman who had brought Ernest to the shelter. She had been back to visit, and when they told her he'd been adopted, she had to find out who had him. She told me he'd been in bad shape when he showed up at her door � bedraggled, anemic, and with a cyst the size of a golf ball in his belly � and she was so glad Smithtown had taken him in and fixed him up. She would have kept him, but when she found out he was FIV+, she had to think of the 6 (!) cats she already had. Hearing how bad off he had been, and seeing how happy he seems now, makes me feel so glad we chose him. My furry little dumpling.


I hope everyone enjoyed Earth Day last week.

You'll be relieved to know that The Little Law School persists in its commitment to kill trees. At first it was "We're in the new building! It's a new era! Everything will be done digitally! The weekly newsletter will be email only!" Then "Okay, put some hard copies outside the office..."
"...and at the security desk."
"...and in the Student Concourse."
"...and in the bookstore."

"Let's post a flyer with the day's events in the main elevators..."
"...and the cafeteria."
"...and the library elevator."
("Oh, and make it in color, so it'll be even more inconvenient when the printer runs out of ink.")

And now it's "Blow up the weekly newsletter to 11X17 and post it on ANOTHER USELESS BULLETIN BOARD by the elevators so students have one more chance to ignore it."

I'd laugh if it weren't all so tragic.


It's interesting, and sad, to look back on something said or written after thinking "That couldn�t have been about me, could it?" and realize that indeed, it was. Interesting. And sad. And I guess it's time to say goodbye. Even though you'll probably never know.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com