but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

let me explain...no, there is too much. let me sum up.
Wednesday, May. 04, 2005

Now Playing - the heater next to me. it's chilly in here!
Now Eating - nothing until 3:30. the last of the class evals await!
Now Feeling - hungry.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I had my teeth cleaned. We had a cast party. The show closed. I went to dinner. I got depressed and bagged on Belle rehearsals. My father had a stroke. I had my performance of Belle. I visited the hospital. The semester is ending. I go to Boston on Friday for a weekend wedding, and finals begin next week. More on some of this later, but first�

I have this annoying old biddy of a cow-orker. She�s a woman who once managed to insult my taste in music, taste in food, housekeeping skills and work ethic in the span of a one minute conversation. Has a big yap, and does not hesitate to use it, even when she confuses it with her ass. She pissed me off this week big time, and it wasn�t even something she said to me. It was directed at a student. The student came in and asked to speak to one of my bosses and the prof who was in her office with her. Old Biddy is a faculty secretary, so presumably she was in there going over their joint final exam. The student said to Boss and Prof, �I just want you to know there is no Graduation Award for a single mother of four who is graduating magna cum laude and works on behalf of Women�s Issues.� Biddy just had to pipe in with �We�ll take up a collection for you and give ya a dollar.� A Number One, who the fuck asked you!? B Number Two, see above! C Number Three, Missy (by the way, where�s YOUR fucking Law Degree?), keep your patronizing comments to yourself. Totally uncalled for.

The good news is she retires in August. The bad news is she retires to the city in Florida where my MIL currently resides. Somehow I doubt I�ll be running into her at any local Mexican joints (part of her hating my taste in food), chichi shopping malls (�cause she�s cheap) or cultural events (to paraphrase Billie Dawn, she just ain�t couth).



So the stroke. Dad was awakened by the friggin� cats at around four last Saturday morning. They wanted food. He felt kind of woozy as he went downstairs, and then as he was giving them their food he leaned to his left, and fell. Called to Mom from the kitchen floor and she managed to help him into a chair, and called for an ambulance. By the time I woke at around 9, she�d left five answering machine messages (which has now convinced us to bring the cordless phone into the bedroom at night). We hurried to the hospital, and met them just as he was being moved to a room. And there he lies.

His left arm and left leg are numb, he had movement in both but the arm has now gotten worse � he can�t move it. He can�t walk, though they did have him up and moving this morning with the aid of two nurses and a walker. He�s scared. He can�t sleep because it�s noisy, and because he thinks he�ll go to sleep and never wake up. He hates the hospital. Mom told me he�ll be moving to a sub-acute care facility in Glen Cove. They may have to add a chair lift to the stairs in the house, and a railing to the front steps. My brother and sister-in-law and aunt are in from out of town. The relatives we aren�t speaking to have actually come to visit him. Many things are happening, and at the same time nothing seems to be happening. And the worst of it is, my daddy may never be the same, and he�s scared and there�s nothing I can do about it.

I�m trying not to be too scared. After all, my MIL made what we consider to be a near-miraculous recovery from her stroke episode. It�s just that my family gets so negative about everything, I can easily see my father giving up hope and just not trying to get any better. But Huz and I are trying to stay positive, and to drag everyone kicking and screaming along with us.

So Leslie�s son�s wedding is in Boston this weekend. I feel secure enough going, what with everyone in town to look after my mother. But it will be sad not sharing it with my folks. And sad because it recalls the loss of Les�s mother the week before my wedding.

Trying to stay positive, but keeping the cell phone on. Just in case.

More later.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
7 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com