but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

some answers
Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2006

Now Playing - CorpseTV.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - pooped.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


THREE? Only THREE questions? Dang, people! Guess everyone�s busy with holiday prep. I�ll keep taking questions until the quota is met, but I�ll answer what I�ve gotten so far. Okay, here goes.

DanaElayne asks:

When did you first realize you were (a) talented musically? and (b) could use it for good ;)

I�ve been singing since I can remember. But in terms of being secure in the knowledge that I had a worthwhile musical talent (and I know this redefines your question a little bit), I�d say I�ve only really felt that within the past five years or so. I�m not someone who�s naturally gifted. I�m more than a little jealous of people who can make it look so easy, because to me singing has always been hard work. Part of that stems from not having the best training early on, and part of that stems from my own lack of ambition. I could have made an effort to continue with private voice lessons during high school. I could have worked harder during college. It was only six years ago, when I decided to start taking voice again that I �found my voice,� as it were.

I had been out of college for a long time, and my technique (what there was of it) was pretty much shot. I did not like the way I was sounding. The year before, I had met Joy through a friend. Luckily for me, when I called her she had room in her schedule. From the first, we�ve always been on the same page in terms of what we wanted to do with my voice. I have a big range, but lacked the technique to make all of it work as one voice, and use it to its full potential. Joy�s method of teaching makes sense, and comes very naturally to me. It�s not that I don�t work hard � we both do � but it makes sense to both my mind and my body. So I don�t get caught up in overthinking what I�m doing, and I�m not trying to push myself physically to do something unnatural. It makes sense, therefore it�s easy. It also helps that I was at a point in my life where I was ready, and able, to handle being a student again, at least in this small area of my life.

As I stated to Joy, I wanted �to be able to sing anything.� Thanks to her, and a lot of hard work, now I can.

skibigsky asks:

If you could live your life over again, what would you do differently? Why? How would it change you? (And c'mon. Everyone's got SOMETHING that they would do differently, no matter how large or how small, so don't cop out on me. In fact, if you answer, I'll do my own post answering the same question. Although now I'll have to think about it!)

Hm. I try not to have too many regrets in my life. I can think of a couple of people I should have kissed, and a couple of people I should never have kissed. I could have been wiser about (so) many things much earlier, and saved myself a lot of grief. I�ve done my share of stupid shit, but I like to think of a lot of it as life lessons. Even if the lesson most often is �DON�T EVER DO THAT AGAIN!� But I would say that if I could change one big thing that impacts me on a day-to-day basis, it�d be to have been more fiscally responsible at an earlier age. When I think of the credit card debt I�ve amassed in the past, I could easily have put a down payment on a house. When I think of the late night post-performance meals that I cheerfully slapped onto my Visa, that then took years to pay off, I cringe. Life would be much easier now. I would have much more to show for the mere pittance I take home every two weeks.

And Jill C-W asks:

Did you hear back from TWOP at that certain theatre? TWOP? What does that mean? I meant The Powers that Be! But I kind of like TWOP. Okay, there's another question. What would that stand for? I say "Those Wacked Out Pea-Brains."

I heard from the director and the producer. The producer said, �It is obvious that regardless of what I say that you will not believe me that XXXXX and XXX were not precast. I am sorry you feel the way you do, but I can't change your feelings.� The director protested loudly that the auditions were held on an even playing field, that she is a forthright and honest person and respected the talent involved too much to do anything so shameful as holding a callback if private arrangements had been made. (So I guess she�s learned her lesson after being called on the carpet for supplying her �favorites� with copies of scenes in advance of callbacks?)

Still. The couple who got the roles didn�t attend either callback, and (I�ve been told) auditioned via videotape. I find it hard to consider that an even playing field. I find it harder to believe that the rumors that persisted for weeks before, and the conviction with which someone at another theater was heard to say �They�ve got it,� on the day of the last callback amount to merely self-fulfilling prophecy. But perhaps my tinfoil hat needs adjusting.

(And TWOP stands for �Those Who Obsequiously Pander.� )

Now you�ll excuse me � I have a new issue of Real Simple and there�s much loafing to be done.

Have a Happy Thanksgiving...la-la-la!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
2 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com