but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

happy birthday to me
Friday, Sept. 26, 2003

Now Playing - Annie Lennox.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - on the edge.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Thank you everyone for your thoughts and concern. I really appreciate it, more than you know.

It's just so, so sudden. Everything's happening so fast, and if you stop to think about it, it's almost as if you lose your breath. We have to keep breathing.

Huz hasn't allowed himself to fully think about the seriousness of her deterioration. He talks about it, but he's not letting it sink in. I was speaking with the Best Man yesterday, and when I mentioned the suddenness of it all, he said, "Yeah, it seems that since Buddy (my father-in-law) died (in January of last year), she hasn't been the same person." I said, "Mark, she's not the same person she was two weeks ago."

The CAT scans showed bleeding in her brain. We're not yet sure if it's due to a stroke or a fall, because no doctors have made an effort to actually speak to my husband. My husband had to ask the nurses whether my MIL should be taking her Excelon, and they got back to him after speaking to one of her doctors to say that yes, she should be, but he'd have to bring it from home. Excuse me, but what sort of bullshit is that? I'm not even talking about him having to bring the pills in. I'm talking about the neuro, who prescribed the frickin' drug, not thinking enough to look at her chart and say, "Yeah, gotta get her some more of that." She's been without it for four days, and it's my husband's job to tell these "medical professionals" how to coordinate her treatment? We only found out about the CAT scan results because a social worker let it slip to my sister-in-law. Unbelievable.

My SIL visited a care facility about a half-hour from her, and put down a deposit. They're putting her in a "high-functioning" cottage, in the hope that her condition may improve, and because, given her history, she�s not considered a "worst case" yet. She could be in Florida by the end of next week. The social worker told my SIL that things should be done as quickly as possible, and to deal with the fallout later. I�m not entirely comfortable with it, this uprooting her so quickly, but it�s not my decision to make. I just feel badly that she�s being swept away from her friends and her church and everything that�s familiar to her, with hardly a chance to say goodbye. But considering her state right now, she may not even put up a fight.

I spoke with Huz a short while ago, and he said my SIL called her this morning. She didn�t seem to recognize her, and after SIL said who she was, she got a barely audible "Hello" in return. She wished her a happy birthday, and my mother-in-law just repeated it back to her in response. "Happy birthday."

That�s right, today is her birthday. She�s seventy-six years old today.

Happy Birthday, Minnie.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
3 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com