but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

lose some
Friday, Sept. 20, 2002

Now Playing - Bob Dylan, causing my cohort to once again exclaim "I can't understand one word he's saying!"
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Okay, on to The Great Grandparent's Visitation Trial and Monster Truck Wars.

Well, ya know what I mean.

I lost. I lost to that witch who talked trash to me, AND to my child about me, which of course we were unable to introduce in my testimony. Cut off at the knees. And "sentenced" to unsupervised visits. "Welfare of the child" my foot!

(Just think how much worse I'd be if this were real.)

So I watched a rerun of Law and Order when I got home, and found it interesting, as I'd just gone through essentially the same thing. It's a lot neater when it's crammed into half an hour. But pretty true to form. One of the lawyers in the audience thought we did a pretty good job, I guess, because she asked a colleague, "Oh, so this is a real trial, then?" Things we might have done differently: not emphasizing at the outset that my problems with arranging visitation were more a result of our packed schedule. That made me look inflexible, I think. Playing the "my ex's mother is a trash talking witch" card early on might have given us more time to find ways to work that testimony back in if it were excluded right off the bat. Pissed me off that I didn't get the chance to cry on the stand, since "Grandma" did! I was so ready.

It was nerve-wracking, though. I don't work well off the cuff. Improv, while I love it, is scary. Especially when you have to process the information others are providing on the fly, because it could directly impact your "testimony." Good exercise, though. And convinced me that I'd better not do anything wrong, ever. That I could be put on trial for.

I really am not a good loser. I've nearly come to blows with people over the outcome of games of Celebrity. The huz (pre-huzness) once walked out of Bill & HB's home during a game in which I was a bit too snarkily competitive. I have learned to temper it somewhat. But sports teams and stuff? I couldn't care less. It's just a game. Though I do maintain my end of the Mel vs. Huz/Syracuse vs. St. John's basketball rivalry. Any game that relies on personal intelligence or skill, however? Watch your back, buddy.


It's Friday, y'all. Lunch/dinner with The Fabulous soon, "Pack of Lies" at BayWay tonight, laundry early tomorrow, followed by rehearsal for the Quickie Hofstra Revue, a house concert with Megan Cary at my friend Jill's, and then "Scarlet Pimpernel" at Theatre Three. And dinner with my folks on Sunday. I'm pooped already.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com