but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

if i come to ledges, blast
Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007

Now Playing - the sounds of a home.
Now Eating - done eating, full.
Now Feeling - warm, inside and out.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


So I cooked tonight, chili and pasta with goat cheese and spinach. Did two dish washes and a load of laundry. Ate some cheese, drank some wine (a rather harsh pinot, scottmichael, but it's doing its job). Mulled hanging some pictures in the music room, but that's best left to tomorrow when the drums are out for the night. The house is warm, and humming with heater and dryer and dishwasher and computer, and winter is shut securely outside. I am content as I get, I suppose.

I leave you with one of my favorite poems.

Intention to Escape from Him
I think I will learn some beautiful
language, useless for commercial
Purposes, work hard at that.
I think I will learn the Latin
name of every songbird,
not only in America but
wherever they sing.
(Shun meditation, though;
invite the controversial: Is the world
flat? Do bats eat cats?)
By digging hard I might deflect
that river, my mind,
that uncontrollable thing,
Turgid and yellow, strong to
overflow its banks in spring,
carrying away bridges;
A bed of pebbles now, through which
there trickles one clear
narrow stream, following a course
henceforth nefast -

Dig, dig; and if I come to
ledges, blast.

~Edna St. Vincent Millay~


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com