but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

che gorgioso!
Sunday, Jun. 01, 2008

Now Playing - Metsies.
Now Eating - Trader Joe's raspberry & brie phyllo rolls.
Now Feeling - not bad, not bad at all.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Today marks the de facto birthday of The Esteemed Author, Ernest Hemingway. He received a double-width catnip scratching pad and a can of Trader Joe's Tuna for Cats. A good day all around.

birthday boy

I just love that little guy.


I haven't written much about theatre lately...well, not in quite a while actually. There have been some disappointments, some things that I wish had gone differently, some things I passed up that maybe I shouldn't have, some that could have gone better if I'd been more prepared. Par for the course. C'est la doggone vie.

What I'm working on now, as we begin tech week, is the Long Island premiere of The Light in the Piazza. This is a show that I know will make me cry eighteen times over in the span of two hours, all for very different reasons. It's also a show that is a very low-pressure gig for me. Which I'm kind of relishing. And the thing I relish most? That I can go to the bathroom whenever I want. There are no bathrooms in the dressing area of this theater, so if you need to go, you have to go out the back door and around through the side alley to the front of the theater. And then upstairs if the handicapped bathroom on the first floor is occupied. During Sweeney I tried that once, and between dealing with my multilayered costume and body mic, rushing back and forth, and being out of breath when I got backstage, I said NEVER AGAIN. Now I can pee when I choose!

It's the little things, really.

Right now we await the start of our sitzprobe (or a more apt name, in light of our little Florentine skit, the "italiana"). If this orchestra can do justice to this beautiful score, and play half as well as our musical director herself, I will be very pleased. I really enjoyed the sitzprobe for Sweeney Todd, and it's a great opportunity (when it goes as it should) for the cast to heave a collective sigh of "Ahh...so this is what the score sounds like!"

We're midway through the opening number. It sounds glorious.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com