but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

let the axis twirl, I'm the happy girl (part 1)
Monday, Jun. 10, 2002

Now Playing -
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Sitting in a gay bar with my friend Rick. It's a Sunday night, so it's pretty slow. The only action will come after 11:00 when someone brings by the video of the latest episode of Queer as Folk. A girl enters, bringing the grand total to three, including me. I tell Rick that there probably hasn't been this much estrogen in the room for a long time. His reply, "Yeah, but they're fag hags...you're not."

"Well, what am I then? I think I need a title. How about...'Beloved of Gay Men, Feared by Straights'? But the acronym's a little unwieldy..."

"How about...'friend?'"

I love my gay friends. Hate to trot out the old "Some of my best friends are..." cliche, but it's true. Well, I'm in theatre, so go figure. But I like to think I'm the sort of woman gay men love, as well. A smart, funny bitch. And I don't mean that in a negative way, because as a (gay, of course...gotta keep with the theme) friend once said, "You have to have a lot of love in your heart to be a bitch." Gay men know how to treat women. I practically never have to pay for a drink in a gay bar. I'm always made to feel I'm the most fabulous thing there. Conversely, I'll always know if my hair looks a sight. Or if I'm "too good for him."

More on this later.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com