but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

the wrap-up
Sunday, Jan. 31, 2010

Now Playing -
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


[I am determined to get this out before the end of the month. I've got about 6 minutes.]

1. What did you do in 2009 that you'd never done before?
Hosted a prom. Finally made it to the Ren Faire. Both of these things were courtesy of #37.
2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions and will you make more for next year?
Last year's resolution was: "I would like to continue to foster the friendships in my life, and cultivate the ones that have sprung back into my life." I think I've managed that to a degree, though one can always do more.
For the coming year, I would like to

  • learn to believe the good others see in me, rather than dwell on the bad I see in myself.
  • Write more, because it's something I've done since the age of ten, and a part of me I shouldn't just shove in a corner, since it's really just another aspect of creativity, no?
  • Be less resentful of the stuff my boss asks me to do. I'm lucky to have a job, and one that is not rocket surgery at that.
  • Step outside my comfort zone. I tend to not want to do things at which I believe I'll fail miserably. Really should get over that.
  • Get my ass (and the rest of me) in shape.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
No.
4. Did anyone close to you die?
My mother-in-law and my aunt.
5. What countries did you visit?
None.
6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
A raise.
7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
The month of Sucktober. November 2, the day my mother-in-law died. December 21, which is never a good day to begin with, but was made even less so by my aunt dying.
Oh, and on a good note, June 12 - the day I escaped from Teeny Dean's clutches!!!
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Being the adult in certain situations; speaking my mind in others.
9. What was your biggest failure?
Not defending a friend more, when I really should have.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
No moreso than usual.
11. What was the best thing you bought?
Ferry tickets.
12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My friends, always.
13. Whose behavior made you appalled or depressed?
A few people who really shouldn't have pulled the crap they did on me and mine.
14. Where did most of your money go?
The Barbie Dream Condo. And probably kitty food.
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Doing Curtains, pretty much every night. And getting on the ferry, each and every time.
16. What song will always remind you of 2009?
Oh, probably "Single Ladies."
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a. happier or sadder? Sadder. But as I've been saying lately, it's better to feel that than nothing at all.
b. thinner or fatter? Fatter.
c. richer or poorer? Poorer.
18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Sleeping.
19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Worrying about money.
20. How did you spend Christmas?
With Huz's cousins, and later at Stephen's house.
21. Did you fall in love in 2009?
Still.
22. How many one-night stands?
None.
23. What was your favorite TV program?
I don't watch anything on a regular basis anymore.
24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
Ah, there's that strong word I do not like to use. But, per #13, there are a few people who I came as close as I can to hating, and will never trust again.
25. What was the best book you read?
The Time Traveler's Wife, best and only.
26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
I'm enjoying Melody Gardot.
27. What did you want and get?
A summer off, without performing.
28. What did you want and not get?
A raise.
29. What was your favorite film of this year?
Oh, my goodness, did I LOVE UP. And the people with whom I saw it.
30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I honestly cannot remember how my husband and I celebrated my birthday (terrible, I know, but I just turned to my right and asked him and neither can he), but the best friends and I spent yet another semi-bizarre evening of food, drink and frivolity in the city. It's becoming a tradition. And I turned forty-one.
31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Not having to stress about money.
32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
Whatever fits. And maybe shows off my rack.
33. What kept you sane?
Again, the love of a good man, my music, and my friends.
34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
None really in particular.
35. What political issue stirred you the most?
Women's reproductive rights vis-à-vis the heathcare debate, and Marriage Equality.
36. Who did you miss?
Brent. Still.
37. Who was the best new person you met?
Much like last year, it's not so much someone new, but someone who has become much more of a presence in my life - Ed. He's become a good friend, and I'm awfully glad he's around.
38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.
Sometimes it's a really good thing to open your damn mouth and say what you feel.
39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
I use the last four lines as a ringtone. Dar Williams - "My Friends"
Sometimes I see myself fine, sometimes I need a witness
And I like the whole truth
But there are nights I only need forgiveness
Sometimes they say I don't know who you are
But let me walk with you some
And I say I am alone, that's all
You can't save me from all the wrong I've done.
But they're waiting just the same
With their flashlights and their semaphores
And I act like I have faith and like that faith never ends
But I really just have friends


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
2 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com