but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

happy day, too
Wednesday, Dec. 10, 2008

Now Playing -
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Happiness was in rather short supply today. Both co-workers had left the building (one was out sick and the other went home with a migraine), leaving me alone with a mess o'work to do. I received word in the morning that Huz's cousin's wife will be having a double mastectomy on December 22, but still hosting Christmas three days later. She seems to be handling it the way I'd like to think I'd handle it - get it taken care of, and get it the hell over with. But damn, this is the first major illness of anyone in our generation. And damn again, this particular cousin is a helluva strong woman, but hosting a major holiday three days after a double mastectomy takes a major set of cojones.

Okay. So. Happiness. Our wedding song came up on The Preciousss today. "I Only Have Eyes For You," by The Flamingos. It's a song of a genre I like to categorize as "swoon music" - stuff to just hold each other really close and sway to on a dance floor. Transcendent. It was nice to hear, along with some stuff that reminded me of the past summer.

And then I went to karaoke tonight, and had much fun with a fun group of people. It seems that sometimes the only thing that will get me through is music, and I thank the Magical Sky Pixie each and every day that I have that. Some of my music has been lost to me as of late, due to unfortunate associations with people no longer in my life, and I need to work on getting it back, owning it again. It's something I hope never to miss.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com