but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

2010
Friday, Dec. 31, 2010

Now Playing -
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Here it is again, kids. Another year, another wrap-up, slightly edited to remove questions that annoy me. Previous versions are here => 2009, 2008, 2007, [Apparently I missed 2006. I think I had food poisoning.] and 2005.



1. What did you do in 2010 that you'd never done before?
Acquired a passport, and flew out of the country with it.
2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions and will you make more for next year?
Last year's resolutions, as follows:
  • Learn to believe the good others see in me, rather than dwell on the bad I see in myself. FAIL.
  • Write more, because it's something I've done since the age of ten, and a part of me I shouldn't just shove in a corner, since it's really just another aspect of creativity, no? Other than a couple of poems and the big TWO entries I managed here, FAIL.
  • Be less resentful of the stuff my boss asks me to do. I'm lucky to have a job, and one that is not rocket surgery at that. Actually managed this pretty well. Go me.
  • Step outside my comfort zone. I tend to not want to do things at which I believe I'll fail miserably. Really should get over that. How do you like that? I FAILed at not being afraid to FAIL! Impressive!
  • Get my ass (and the rest of me) in shape. FAIL. And it's back on the list for the coming year.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Not directly. A few people on my fringes.
4. Did anyone close to you die?
Again, not directly.
5. What countries did you visit?
Canada, for the first time since I was about eight.
6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
Peace of mind.
7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
April 22. Because I got something back I thought I'd lost forever.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Getting the hell through it.
9. What was your biggest failure?
Allowing bad situations and my bad reaction to them to plunge me into repeated torpor.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
My lower back made me its bitch more times than I'd like to count (including today), and I had some weeks-long upper respiratory thing in the late fall, but nothing more than that.
11. What was the best thing you bought?
An iPod touch.
12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My friends.
13. Whose behavior made you appalled or depressed?
Some people who I considered friends.
14. Where did most of your money go?
Toward the Barbie Dream Condo, car repairs and kitty maintenance.
15. What did you get really excited about?
Going to Florida with Kim in February. Seeing more Broadway shows than I have in years, mostly courtesy of Stephen.
16. What song will always remind you of 2010?
I got nuthin'.
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a. happier or sadder? Sadder. And I'm really tired of being sad.
b. thinner or fatter? Imperceptibly thinner, but not enough.
c. richer or poorer? Poorer. I'm really tired of that, too.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Enjoying things.
19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Overthinking. Angsting about money. Crying.
20. How did you spend Christmas?
With Huz's cousins, as per usual.
21. What was your favorite TV program?
Probably Dexter, even though Michael C. Hall creeps me out.
22. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
I no longer trust someone I had no quarrel with previously, and I've written off someone else as a friend. But again, no hate.
23. What was the best book you read?
I think the only books I completed after buying several and finally getting a new library card were The Irresistible Henry House by Lisa Grunwald, and If I Am Missing or Dead, by Janine Latus. The former had been on my wish list for a while and I enjoyed it as much as I thought I would. The latter was a Target impulse buy. It's a memoir about domestic violence semi-masquerading as a true crime novel, and I plowed through it in a day.
24. What did you want and get?
A raise.
25. What did you want and not get?
A bigger raise. Still, I got a raise for the first time since December '08, and I still have a job, so I'm thankful.
26. What was your favorite film of this year?
I think the only film I saw was Sherlock Holmes. And my, RDJ is still yummy.
27. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I sang karaoke, ate red velvet cake, and turned forty-two.
28. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Money. It's base and petty and materialistic, I know, but having more money would have made things immeasurably easier, in so very many ways.
29. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?
Trying and mostly failing to dress deceptively.
30. What kept you sane?
The people who listened when I chose to talk about how bad I was feeling.
31. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Well, I went a little batshit crazy (as batshit crazy as I get) over encountering Alan Cumming at a gay club.
32. What political issue stirred you the most?
That anyone gives any credence to anything that comes out of Sarah Palin's gaping maw.
33. Who did you miss?
Brent. Still.
34. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.
Sometimes it's a really good thing to keep your damn mouth shut.
35. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
'Cause what doesn't kill me
Doesn't kill me
So fill me up
for just another day.
~Next to Normal


And next year's resolutions:
1. Eat better. I discovered (unfortunately at the very tail end of the season) that there is an Organic Farmstand less than 4 miles from my house. I can't afford a CSA share, but nothing should stop me from going to the farmstand and getting some fresh, local produce. And finding ways in which to use it. And to that end...
2. Cook more, and differently. I enjoy cooking, and I'm pretty good at it. But I have stock (heh) recipes I rely on, and I need to step out of my comfort zone (and we all know how well I do that [see last year's resolutions]) and try some new stuff. I've gleaned a few recipes from friends, and tried others I've found in the cookbooks I own, and I intend to keep broadening my repertoire.
3. Get in shape. Ferreals, because I'm not getting any younger, and my back isn't getting any better by my sitting on my ass doing nothing.
4. Be kinder, To myself and to others.

I hope you all have a wonderful new year.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com